Recipe Saturday!

My Christmas present to YOU!!  Saturdays will be the day of the week (unless I get carried away on Wednesday or Monday….) I’ll post one of our family’s favorite recipes.    Just which ones to include is the problem…sweets?  Candy?  Sweets?  Cakes?  Sweets?  Ok ok, sweets later.  Let’s be real here.  How about….

Tortellini Soup

Tortellini Soup

2 pounds lean hamburger

1-28oz can chopped tomatoes (or last summer’s frozen tomatoes or tom. sauce)

1-10 1/2 oz can french onion soup

1-9 oz package frozen green beans (or a can of green beans)

1-9 oz bag cheese tortellini (personally, I like about a bag and a half!)

1 teaspoon dried basil leaves, crushed (or fresh)

1 medium zucchini, cubed very small (don’t even think about using canned zucchini…blechhh)

Brown the hamburger, pour off excess grease.  In large pot…note my brand spankin’ new Le Creuset pot!  Love love this pot!!!…where was I?  OK in large pot, combine hamburger, tomatoes, onion soup, beans, basil and 3 1/2 cups water.  heat to boil, reduce heat to medium,  cover and simmer for 10 min.

Add the tortellini and zucchini to above.  Simmer, uncovered until tortellini and zucchini are tender.  If soup is too thick, add a can of beef broth and/or tomato sauce.

Serve with Parmesan cheese and garlic bread..cheap version: take a slice of sandwich bread, smear with butter and sprinkle w/garlic salt or powder.  Toast lightly under the broiler for about 30 seconds.  Yummmm!  OR, buy a loaf of French bread, split, smear w/butter and sprinkle on garlic salt or powder.  Toast or zap in the microwave.

This isn’t a particularly budget cutting recipe…the tortellini isn’t cheap but this soup is perfect for Christmas!  I have found NO person who doesn’t like this.  Go ahead and try it. I dare you.  I double dog dare you.  You’ll be glad you did!  =0)

Oh and this is a great soup to double!  Freeze half of it for a later quick supper/lunch.  You’ll thank me.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe Saturday!

  1. Teuchter says:

    Congratulations on your new blog Debbie!! I was so excited when I saw it in my in box!! Will try to post a proper comment tomorrow although it will be a busy day for me – maybe in the evening!
    Hugs.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Hey Teuchter!! Good to see you here. I’ll be putting up a music blog soon. And maybe…perhaps something about my fav actors and actresses??! =0)

      Like

  2. grammyjj says:

    Wow – I could even do this 😉 (and that’s saying something)! Sounds YUMMO!

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    Yes, I believe you might just be able to handle this grammy!! And it IS YUMMO!!

    Like

  4. servetus says:

    This looks tasty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

