A “Notable” Wednesday!!

I’ve been itching to do a music post.  Music is one of my great loves. Shhh, don’t tell the Big Boss.  I have music going almost all the time.  And if I don’t, that means I’m either humming a tune or belting out my version of whatever strikes my fancy.  Yes, I have been caught mid-warbling several times.  *blush*  But hey, it helps me get THINGS done.  Nothing moves mopping along like a fast medley of 1960’s tunes.  Or maybe  singing along with Andrea Bocelli!   =0)  We blend rather nicely, thank you very much!!

Anyway, Christmas music is a weakness for me.  If Andrea comes out with a new Christmas album, I’m first in line.  No, not now, come to think of it.  Ain’t Amazon wonderful?!!!  I just click a couple of times, and Andrea is mine, all mine!   BTW, you’ve gotta watch his Christmas special.  It’s usually on a PBS station.  Amazing!!

OK, back to the subject at hand.  You ask just what the subject is?  Christmas music, remember?  Last year I stumbled on several new songs, thank you YouTube!!  Here’s the one that is absolutely wonderful although I’m not really sure that it’s officially “Christmas music”.   But oh my, the music is gorgeous.  And the tenor, Vladimir Albataev, is wonderful!! But it’s sung in Russian.  So I’ll translate for you.  Ahhh, you didn’t know I spoke fluent Russian?  I’m just full of surprises huh?  And I lie a lot too.  Hellllloooo!  That’s what Google is for.  Nuff said.  Here ya go….

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNv5ZvzTGJw&feature=BFa&list=FL0aIA7Gz-ZgYYV8XzwB_Drw&lf=mh_lolz]

Monotonously a Little Bell Rings 
A little bell rings monotonously along the dusty road, and over the expanse of fields resounds the doleful song of the coachman.

There is so much sadness in that sad song, and so much feeling in that native tune, that in my cold bosom my heart bursts into flame.

 And I remember other nights, our native fields and woods, and in my dry eyes a tear has appeared like a spark.

A little bell rings monotonously, and echoes softly in the distance. My coachman has become silent, but the road before me is without end.

(Translation by John Paul Lediaev)

And just for good measure, I offer Mr. Bocelli singing Caro Gesu Bambino, a traditional Italian Christmas song.

http://youtu.be/sV6DXB8Mtyw

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A “Notable” Wednesday!!

  1. bccmee says:

    The singer in the top video is incredible. His voice is magical. And the video played in the background looks surreal, like a miniature Christmas village but populated by real people.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Isn’t he tho?!! The first time I stumbled upon this video, I was moved to tears. And I didn’t have a clue what the guy was singing about. He could’ve been lamenting the woes of a lady bug for all I knew! But what a fine piece of music. Once I click on “play”, I just can’t seem to stop listening over and over. Glad you liked it!!

      Like

  2. Teuchter says:

    Music has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember and like you I am either listening to it, “singing” to it (hopefully not within earshot of anyone) or whistling! I was told when I was young that whistling was not ladylike but that doesn’t seem to have stopped me. Like you my choices are pretty eclectic, although classical is my first love, so I listen to almost anything. I’d love to go back to playing the cello but as that might not be possible I’m tempted to take up guitar! Didn’t someone once say you are never too old to learn? (I’m ignoring the one that mentions old dogs and new tricks!!:) We have a number of them in the house so I wouldn’t have to go and buy one or even rent one!

    The two pieces you have given us links to are wonderful and seem to bring a sense of peace as we listen. The first one was unknown to me. Andrea is a particular favourite of mine and I bought his “Concerto in Central Park” CD just recently and have quite a number of his other CD’s too. One I’m particularly fond of is The Lord’s Prayer from his 2009 My Christmas CD. Amazingly beautiful and very moving. I’m so happy that PBS airs so many of his concerts often with David Foster a “local boy” who was born in Victoria, our Province’s Capital.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Well I think you should just do both…guitar and cello!! I’ve always wanted to learn to play the fiddle/violin. It’s on my Bucket List. Called up a local college several years ago to see if they had anyone who could teach me. Nada, zip, nothing. Ahhh, but now…we have a new church member wha can play anything with strings!! There may be a ray of hope there somewhere!!

      Like

  3. servetus says:

    Did not know this one — thanks!

    Like

  4. grammyjj says:

    Well, you know that we don’t particularly share the same taste in music. But we do share a love of music. My taste in Christmas music runs more to King George’s “There’s a New Kid In Town”, and “Merry Christmas from the Family” by Montgomery Gentry!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      well that was the understatement of the century. But the King does a wonderful “New Kid”…however…the other one. Well, tacky is just all I can think of. But rest assured, I take my job seriously as your culture teacher. More music posts coming your way!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

