Recipe Saturday-Soup’s On

Needing a good old Warm-Up-Your-Innards type of lunch/dinner/meal? Have I got a soup for YOU! It has a really original name: Cowboy Stew. It’s not really a stew and it’s definitely not just for cowboys, although they do seem to be partial to it. I got it from my mom, who had no cowboys. Unless you count me and I would be technically a cowgirl/cowgranny now!

This was always a good soup for our family because it contains so many items that I grow in my garden. Most of the time. Not this year tho. I got maybe 3 tomatoes and 3 pickings of cucumbers. We did manage 2 messes of okra and a week’s worth of yummy yellow squash. That was it. Not one of my better years of gardening.

Anyway, this soup uses ingredients that most of us have already. No running 40 miles to the grocery store to get organically grown and approved capers or whatever.

Cowboy Stew

1 1/2 pounds hamburger, browned and drained in a large soup pot.

Saute´(somebody PLEASE tell me where to find the accent mark for these fancy French words????) 1/4 cup bell pepper and 1 medium chopped onion in 1 tablespoon of bacon drippings/grease.

Combine with browned hamburger and add:

1 t. garlic powder (or a clove of fresh if you have it)

1/4 cup chopped celery

1-16 oz can of diced tomatoes (or frozen tomatoes from last summer’s garden or even canned tomatoes w/jalepenos and now I need the tilde symbol.)

1/4 teaspoon sugar (I don’t know why.  I just  do as I’m told!)

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon chili powder (depending on how much fire you like in your soup, you can add more. Or less.)

1-16 oz can of whole kernel corn (or fresh/frozen, juice and all)

1-16 oz can of Mexican Style/Ranch Style beans

6 medium peeled potatoes, diced

3 cups of water

I add a handful of peeled, sliced carrots

Bring to a boil, reduce heat to simmer, put lid on and simmer for 30 minutes to 1 hour.  This soup is one of those that gets better every time you reheat it. 

Serve with crackers or cornbread.  Oh, you don’t have a good cornbread recipe?  It’s a comin’ soon!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recipe Saturday-Soup’s On

  1. servetus says:

    Sounds delish! I think the Servetus family is having fondue for dinner (if I can find cheeses I like) or else venison chops and scalloped potatoes.

    I’m sure you know this already, but I have to say this because I have to say this: in all but a few recipes if I don’t have capers on hand I substitute finely minced green olives with a little extra bit of white vinegar. (One exception would be Königsberger Klopse, because the whole point of that recipe is to taste the capers.) It’s a similar taste.

    If you want the accent on the e in “sauté,” one way to do that in WP is to hit the “insert character” button on your post dashboard (it has an Omega [Ω] on the button) and pick the accented character of your choice.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      LOL! I discovered the caper/olive substitution just this past summer. I was making some appetizers (remind me to post that recipe. To die for!) and ran out of olives. I grabbed the jar of capers (I have NO idea why I bought them or when.) tasted them and threw them into the mix. Worked great! Nobody knew the diff!! So, share you German dish?(notice I won’t even try to type it because of that stinkin’ oomlat/oomlaut! =0)

      I haven’t had fondue since the 70s!!! Must remember to do that.

      Like

  2. Gail Felker says:

    I’ll have to try your recipe. It reminded me of your hamburger pot pie which is now a Felker family staple. I think you should definitely post that one!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Hey Gail!!!! oh wow, you still make that?! I haven’t done that one in a long time. I’ll get that one up soon!! Thanks for stopping by!! Hope your Christmas was a blessed one. Loved your newletter and pics!

      Like

  3. servetus says:

    I don’t really have a recipe. You make a meatball out of equal proportions beef, pork, and veal, binding it with bread and eggs and salting / peppering to taste. The meat needs to be very fine, so even if you’re not grinding it yourself run it through your meat grinder again once you get it home. Tiny sautéed minced onions and parsley also taste good in it the meatball. Some people add lemon juice or anchovies to the meatball, but not me. You poach the meatballs till done in salted water with some juniper berries and a bay leaf or two in it. Then you make a white sauce which you season to taste with lemon juice and capers. Some people stir sour cream into the white sauce, I don’t. You can also richen the sauce with eggs but make sure to temper the eggs before adding or it will look really *icky*. Serve by placing meatballs on a platter, covering with the sauce, and garnishing with parsley, along with a generous bowl of boiled potatoes and some pickled beets.

    Like

  4. The Queen says:

    Sounds heavenly!! Sorta like Stroganoff minus the noodles. Yumm. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

