Veering into Recipe Saturday

Just in from driving 500 miles.  I really do have the next installment of the Trails thing but it’s Saturday and that means RECIPE ! So this may be the “Farm” Recipe Saturday so I would officially be legit and true to the 365 WordPress deal.  Right?  I know.  It’s a stretch.

This is the Biggie.  The One our hunters adore.  They also beg for the recipe.  I am not stingy so I share.  (Where’s my medal?)

Bread Pudding with WHISKEY SAUCE

 (there’s a story to go with the whiskey.  If I don’t get it done tonight, I’ll do it tomorrow?!) 

1-1 pound loaf French bread (not sandwich, not Italian, not the garlic and butter kind and don’t even think about using leftover bisquits.  Patooowey!  Ask me how I know.)

2 cups half and half (that’s half heavy cream and half milk)

2 cups milk

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups sugar

3/4 cup coarsely chopped pecans (I don’t measure this.  The more, the better in my book.)

1/2 cup raisins (or leave them out.  I mostly do. But if you have someone in the household who loves raisins, go for it.  Soak them for about 30 mins. in hot water, drain and dump them in.)

1 Tablespoon vanilla (the real stuff and a little more can’t hurt)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 stick melted butter

In a large bowl, tear up the bread.  There’s no fast way to do this and cutting it up just isn’t the same. ( No, I don’t know why!)  Stir together the half & half, milk, vanilla and eggs.  Pour over the bread and let soak for 30 mins, more or less.  Add the sugar, pecans, raisins and stir. Melt butter in a 9×13 ovenproof dish in 325 degree oven.  Remove from oven and pour the bread mixture in.  Bake for 55 minutes at 325 degrees.

Here comes the good part!

Whiskey Sauce

1/2 cup butter (NOT margarine!)

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup half  half (or straight cream for extra thick sauce)

2 Tablespoons whisky ( The preferred  selection here is Southern Comfort! The truth of the matter is, the guy in the liquor store suggested it.  I told him what I was making and he said, “Oooooooo.  I know just the thing!”  Cause, obviously, I didn’t!!!

Combine the butter, sugar and half & half in a saucepan.  Cook slowly over low heat, after a few mins. up it to medium heat and stir until sugar dissolves. Continue to cook until it reaches boiling, then reduce heat and simmer for 5 mins., stirring constantly. You don’t want this to scorch the bottom of the pan!.  Remove from heat and cool a bit.  Add whiskey.  Makes around 1 1/2 cups of sauce.

Serve this over the bread pudding.  Hot.  Or drink the sauce.  Whatever.  I would’ve made some and taken pics but heaven help me, all of this holiday eating has taken its toll.  And I can smell this a mile away and gain 10 pounds just doing that!!! 

I guarantee that if you’re trying to snare a man through his tummy, THIS will do it!  This is total and complete Comfort Food and is wonderful on a cold wintry night.  The bread pudding freezes well and the sauce can be refrigerated and reheated in the microwave.  It may seem a bit lumpy but just whisk it some and the texture will smooth out and even if it doesn’t, who cares?  It just melts into the bread pudding.  Holy cow,  I think I just gained 5 pounds writing this.

 Now I’m gonna proof this and hit the showers!  Those 500 miles get longer every year.  That’s another post…What to Do For 500 Miles.

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Veering into Recipe Saturday

  1. bccmee says:

    Or a man could make this recipe to get a woman. 😉

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Ootchiemama!! Now wouldn’t THAT be something?!!

    And you can thank me later…

    Like

  3. Brenda says:

    I am loving your blog………Thanks for sharing. Happy 2012

    Like

  4. The Queen says:

    Thanks for stopping by Brenda! Hope 2012 is good to you!

    Like

  5. Pingback: More Genealogical Adventures or How Bread Pudding Opened Ancestral Doors | Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

