I have an announcement to make

Gumpaste babies for Mallorie’s birthday cake

Ha! Made you look!! No, nobody in the immediate family is PG…that I know of. It’s just that I finally figured out how to make these sweet little babes! See the blue thing in the background? That’s a gumpaste mold. You just take a glob of flesh tinted gumpaste (sugar and gunk to make it squishy) and push down into the mold. Then you pop it into the freezer for 20 mins. or so, take it out and gently deliver that gumpaste into the my cake world. Easy peasy.

 Took a little time to master the event tho. My first delivery was not pretty. I didn’t know about the freezer part so when I pried him out of the mold, his head went wonky on me. And he had no nose and a leg was missing. OK, that sounds gross so I’ll just say that the babies of yesterday’s undertaking were whole and almost perfect. Aren’t they cute? Now, I paint them with some petal dust.  

Mallorie has had a Baby Doll cake picked out for months, so Baby Doll it is!  When I was surfing around trying to find some tutorials on Gumpaste Babies, I ran into a hot topic…HOW can you eat these sweet things?!!!   Seems it’s quite the controversy at CakeWrecks and Cake Central.  Heck, you DON’T eat them.  You carefully remove them from the cake and let aforementioned little girl hold it and then put it on a shelf somewhere so the little girl can look at it and hold it later!  End of discussion.  You do NOT under any circumstances EAT the baby.  That’s just icky.

More later.  If the babies turn out OK. 😉

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have an announcement to make

  1. bZirk says:

    I’m enjoying your blog. Your energy and creativity are obvious. That’s a big plus. I’ll be back, and certainly to see how the cake turns out. 😀

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    bZirk…love your photo. So you! Thanks and see ya later. 😉

    Like

  3. Pingback: The anatomy of a baby doll cake « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

  4. Trudie says:

    Can you believe, never in South African shops I am able to find such a baby mold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

