Orange you glad it’s Recipe Saturday?!

Orange Cream Cheese Bread from justapinch.com

º

Today’s featured goodie will be Orange Cream Cheese Bread.  I found this on the internet.  In fact, I think it was one of those sidebar ads at FaceBook…justapinch.com.  Looked good so I tried it and wowzer, it IS good!!!  The orange flavor is just so…creamy…and it helps that there’s cream cheese in it. 😉  I added more pecans, but you can leave them out or try walnuts.  The rind is a must and I may increase the shortening/butter to 3/4 cup next time.  I made these for Christmas snacking and breakfast.  Nuke  a slice for about 10 seconds and slather on some butter.  Add  a fresh cup of coffee and heaven is sitting right there at your table!

The recipe makes 2 loaves out of this recipe, which I did and the loaves were pretty thin. So I did one loaf and baked it a bit longer.  Do the toothpick test.  And I also did mini-bundts, baking them a shorter time.  Play with it.  Just don’t overbake it.

Orange Cream Cheese Bread

1-8 oz pkg softened cream cheese
1/2 cup shortening, butter flavored or butter
1 2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 cup milk
1/2 cup pecans
2 Tablespoons grated orange rind
1/4  cup freshly squeezed orange juice
Cream the cream cheese & shortening, then gradually add the sugar beating till fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time.  Then add flour, salt and baking powder alternately with the milk, beginning with the milk and ending w/the flour.  Mix well after each addition. Stir in orange rind and pecans.  Pour into well greased loaf pan and bake at 375 degrees for about 60 mins. Check  doneness w/toothpick.  When done, cool bread in pan for about 10 mins. While still in pan, pour orange juice over hot bread.  Turn out on wire rack to cool completely.

and don’t forget the coffee!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Orange you glad it’s Recipe Saturday?!

  1. Marilyn says:

    Deb, Did you leave the cream cheese off the ingredient list?

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Weirdly enough, I did not leave it off!! I went back to my post and there the cream cheese was. I updated. No change, no cream cheese. I tried again in the HTML mode. Updated. Nothing. *pulling hair out by now* Tried deleting ALL ingredients, retyping them in, update…Yay, it went thru. Thanks for the heads up! Now if I could just figure out why WordPress doesn’t like cream cheese, I’d be a happy woman!!!

    Like

  3. Art Girly says:

    Must try!!!!

    Like

  4. junjoy2 says:

    Reblogged this on junjoys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

