Snowflakes keep falling on my head

Trial snowflakes..gumpaste cut out w/cookie cutters, gumpaste & sugar sheets punched from scrapbook tool stash

Update: finished product HERE

Or rather on my kitchen countertop.  No I haven’t lost my mind, but am working on it.  I’m working on a snowflake theme wedding cake for this weekend.  Been making big snowflakes, medium size snowflakes and teeny tiny snowflakes…and trying to decide how to decorate them..or if I should decorate them.  And what color to decorate them..choices are white, almost white, silver, silver with white over it. See where I’m headed with this.  Good. Because I sure don’t.

I’ve done my research and found two gorgeous snowflake cakes to inspire me.  So while I’m deciding, I’m working on lemon filling, trimming the cakes and boxing up mints that I made last night. Oh, and paying bills!

If you don’t hear from me for a couple of days, you’ll know why. Not that the world will stop spinning if I don’t post EVERY day.  Just sayin’.

This entry was posted in cakes, farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snowflakes keep falling on my head

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi, I stumbled upon your blog while doing a search for gum paste snowflakes. Which cutters did you use to make your large snowflakes? I will be making a wedding cake (snowflake themed) for a young couple at church. Any direction you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Hello, Lisa! I used a collection of snowflakes that I’ve assembled thru the years. Most were cut out of gum paste then I took small round tips and cut them out more and in some cases I used my Exacto knife to free-hand cut out designs within the snowflakes. The more intricate flakes were cut out of edible sugar sheet like Wilton with my scrapbook paper punches. You have to be really careful as the paper is very delicate! So make lots if you use that technique!!! I also tried rolling out the gumpaste very thin with some tylose powder added to strengthen it and punched them out. I turned the punch upside down and fed the gumpaste thru it in strips. Brushed edible glitter on some! The nice thing about the snowflakes is that you can start experimenting and making them weeks ahead! I used clear straws to support the larger ones, glued on with royal icing. I don’t know if you saw the finished product but there’s the link just in case..
    https://therufffarm.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/tangent-the-day-after/

    Thanks for visiting and if you have more questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me again!!! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

