A short “Recipe Saturday”

On my way out the door to finish up the wedding cake.  Today’s recipe is an old favorite.  After we moved up here, I discovered that these people don’t make cole slaw like we do in the South!  Thank goodness.  Never did like cole slaw until I found this. 

It’s a recipe from Brookville Hotel..the one that used to be in Brookville, in a real hotel.  Such a fun place to visit.  Then they moved just off I70 in a new building that lacks the atmosphere of the old hotel but is still sensational.  And the fried chicken

hasn’t changed. Or the creamed corn, or biscuits…all the same!!!

So here’s their Cole Slaw.  I don’t change it one little bit.  Just like the recipe says.  Folks at home in Texas refer to this as dessert. It’s close!

Brookville Cole Slaw 

1 head shredded green cabbage

1 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup vinegar

1 cup cream (as in whipping)

 

    Whip cream till fluffy.  Add salt, sugar and vinegar.  Fold this mixture into the cabbage right before serving.  Doesn’t store well, so mix up just what you think you’ll need!  In other words, guess!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A short “Recipe Saturday”

  1. servetus says:

    Mmmm, vinegar / cream coleslaw — love it. Actually I like almost every cabbage I’ve ever tasted 🙂

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    I never liked cabbage/coleslaw until I found this. Some people don’t whip the cream up, some do…I like it best whipped. So you have the whipped vs not whipped crowd. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

