Tangent: The Day After

I’m creaking this morning.  Too much wedding celebrating?  Maybe.  But it was such a nice wedding!  And everything went off without a hitch and the bride and groom were dreams to work with!.  Well, maybe there was a hitch but I didn’t witness it first hand.  Thank goodness.  I don’t like hitches.  They make me tired.

SnowflakeCake

And having been a bride, a bridesmaid/s and mother of the grooms,  cooked for weddings, sung for weddings, played for weddings, arranged flowers for weddings, catered weddings, planned weddings and baked wedding cakes….now I’m REALLY tired…I can say I’ve witnessed all sorts of hitches at weddings.

And really, when we get right down to it, hitches don’t STOP the wedding now do they?  they’re just little bumps in the road that you either have to go around or maybe just plow on through.  The maid of honor forgot the groom’s wedding ring.  No problem.  Hey Preach, can I borrow your ring for about 30 mins?

The soloist hasn’t arrived yet and we’re already 15 mins behind schedule.  Ms. Pianist, could you please play selections from Phantom of the Opera till she arrives?  See?  This is easy.

The church secretary forgot about your wedding plans and scheduled Vacation Bible School the same day.  Hey, everyone dreams of 50 flower girls and 49 ring bearers, right?  OK, maybe not

The wedding cake collapses as the bride and groom cut it?  As long as said cake doesn’t hit the floor (past the 5 second rule), we’re good.  Otherwise, Aunt Matilda can scoop it up with the dust pan while Mother of the Bride runs over to the Kwik Shop for all the donuts they have on the premises. I’m telling you, things are under control.  Trust me.

Groom’s tux pants are 4″ too long?  Someone throw me my purse! I have a needle and thread in there somewhere!

Yep, seen all of these ( heard about a couple) and you know what?  The bride and groom are hitched in spite of the hitches.  The world keeps turning and days/months/years later, everyone sits around and laughs about the look on the bride’s face when the cake fell or how cute is was when the flower girl refused to throw the rose petals on the floor.  It’s life.  We roll with punches.  We adapt. We develop Flexibility.  I say why get crazy because the caterer forgot the beans.  Why throw a fit when the electricity goes off at the church? Shall we roll with the punches people?

So all you Bridezillas out there…BEWARE.  This old lady will laugh in your face.  Scoff at you worries.  Smile when you’re worried.  The wedding will go on.  Unless of course, the groom doesn’t show.  Then, you’re on your own.  Not a darned thing I can do about that….

So, it’s back to Real Life today.  Cattle to be fed. Poop to haul. Leftovers to be warmed up.  Punch bowls to be put back on the shelf.  Tablecloths to be washed. Grandkids to hug. And more weddings to plan! 😉

This entry was posted in cakes, Family Fun, farm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tangent: The Day After

  1. servetus says:

    Beautiful cake! Congratulations 🙂

    I think what you say is really important but I didn’t “get it” myself until I was probably 32 or so 🙂

    Like

  2. Art Girly says:

    Somehow, I missed this on FB! (Hate the new FB!) It’s just beautiful! You have such a talent (one of so many talents!) I’m sure the bride was elated with it! 🙂

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    Thanks gals. I had fun doing this cake. I had always wanted to do a snowflake theme…learned LOTS on this cake!

    Not crazy about the new FB either. Thinking about dropping out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

