Short and Sweet

002Just now coming off the Super Bowl High with coffee in hand.  Great game.  Blah halftime show. FANTASTIC FOOD!!!!  I’m sharing my contributions to the overloaded food table.  Wow, did we have a lot of food!!

I heated up some brisket that BB had smoked, whipped up some cupcakes after church and got out the ingredients for what is rapidly becoming a “stand-by” recipe for me, which will be featured later.

Today, however, I will share (even tho it’s not Saturday) a recipe for my Red Velvet cupcakes.   I’ll have to say that out of all the boxed cake mixes, Duncan Hines’ Red Velvet is by far the best, IMHO.  So, if you’re feeling lazy, get that box out of the cabinet and go for it.  I add less water, more oil…as long as the liquids =whatever 1 1/3 cup of water and 1/4 cup oil add up to (a little over 1 1/2 cup?).

There are a kazillion recipes for Red Velvet…as long as they include vinegar and baking soda, you’re good to go.  I think I got my recipe from a lady at my home church in TX years ago.

The real clincher for this cake is the icing/filling.  Not the cream cheese stuff.  That’s just wrong.  I got this when I worked at the Financial Aid Dept. at college.  The boss’s wife made a Red Velvet cake for us on special occasions and it was filled with and covered with this.  I usually double the recipe for 1 box of cake mix or 1 recipe of the original from-scratch recipe.  Fluffy as air and exquisitely wonderful!!!

Fluffy Icing

1 cup Crisco

1 cup sugar

1 cup milk

1/4 cup flour

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon butter flavoring

Pinch of salt

Put flour and salt in small sauce pan and pour milk in SLOWLY, whisking while pouring.  Place over low heat, stirring constantly w/whisk until the mixtures is thick.  Remove from heat and cool.  I usually place mine in the freezer to hurry up the cooling process.

While this is cooling, place sugar and Crisco in mixing bowl and mix  well.  Turn up to high speed and let the mixer do the work. It’ll take at least 5 mins. to dissolve the sugar…maybe more.  That’s the ultimate goal….dissolve the sugar crystals. (If you have a wire whisk attachment, use it for this!  If not, a regular beater will do.  I’ve never tried it using a hand mixer as it takes a good while for the sugar to dissolve.)

Add the cooled milk/flour mixture to the sugar and Crisco.  Beat in vanilla and butter flavoring. And that’s it.  It doesn’t crust over.  I usually make a double recipe cause I like LOTS of this icing on my Red Velvet!!!  You can put some in a plastic bag and using a round tip or filling tip, squirt a bunch into the insides of the cupcakes.  THEN, ice the top with it. Yummo!!!!!

NOTE:  If you do this in 9″ cake pans, be sure you torte the layers and fill each one with this icing!!!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Short and Sweet

  1. Dairy Daily says:

    What an interesting recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

  2. kaye pitcock says:

    THANK YOU DEBBIE!! This is one of my daughter- in- laws favorite cake and she does not like the cream cheese icing and I knew there was another icing recipe with the original cake recipe many years ago. Is she going to be surprised!

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    YAY!!! Let me know how she likes it. And you’re welcome! Aren’t DIL’s fun after all those boys?!!

    Like

  4. My grandma used to make “Waldorf Astoria” cake for every family reunion in her world. The cake had it’s own place on her buffet table or a picnic table. She got the recipe years and years ago from the newspaper, sharing the recipe for the rich red velvety cake from the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York. The cake was wonderful and the frosting was wonderful !! Sarah made her cake last Christmas and it was a special treat. Grandma topped the frosting with coconut and pecans. Thank-you for sharing.!! Makes me think of my Grandma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

