Ranting is so easy

Oh yeah.  Especially when it comes to politics.  Don’t get me wrong.  This post isn’t about politics in the Republican vs Demo sense.  Or the liberal vs conservative sense.  It’s about sense.  Period.  As in COMMON?!!!  Hello Washington??  Is anyone there?!  Well, I do know that the KS congressmen are listening.  And I’d bet my Barbie doll that Nebraska, OK, TX, MO and other ag states are listening. 

Could this be illegal in the future?

This is just so aggravating.  We’re being bombarded with regulations, new laws to the point that I’m dizzy.  So here’s the deal:  the farm regulation being tossed about (and that’s what I’d like to personally do with it…TOSSS ITTTT!) would make:

Taking your child out with you to fix fences, IF he’s under 16, against the law.

Having your under 16 child clean a muddy farm truck with a power washer AGAINST the law.

Asking said child to open gates to feedlot pens a violation of regulations, especially IF it involves any electrically powered gates.  As in: you can open this one, but you can’t open that one.  We’ll need another adult to take care of that one. Hey, Grandma!  Can you get over here?

The list could go on and on, but I won’t bore you with all of that.  While announcing that they’re doing this to “protect children”, the REAL reason is yet another attempt to regulate every aspect of our lives. 

You might ask, “But how would they enforce such laws?”  Could they REALLY keep tabs on ALL farms throughout the country ALL of the time?  Yep, they sure can.  Ever hear of drones?  I know, I know.  And I probably have had visits from extraterrestrials too.  I refer you to just one of MANY search results made on the topic of “drones spying on European farms”, the BBC in particular:

Spying on Europe’s farms with satellites and drones” by Laurence Peter

If you don’t think this could happen here, think again.  Ever check out any map site?  Believe me, you can zero in on those things and see every cow in a pasture. And that’s just using a measly google map or whatever.  Think about what these government agencies have at their disposal.  Yeah, they can count the freckles on a farmkid’s nose.  Don’t doubt it.

And safety?  Really?  Like us farm moms don’t care about safety?!!  And…while we’re at it…my kid safer on the farm?  My kid safer in say, oh I don’t know…the inner city of D.C. or NYC or even Dallas?  Hands down, I know where mine is safer.  And not just safer from physical harm but from damage to the mind, soul, spirit.  I’m not putting down inner cities.  I have many friends who have raised good kids in such places.  But would it be “safer”?  Hmmm, proof is needed on that one, dearest legislators.  Don’t tell me how to raise my kids or anyone else’s for that matter.

Then there’s the work ethic.  Can’t tell you how many college profs commented on our boys.  “We want farm kids!!  They know how to work.”  No I can’t provide any stats.  I just know from experience what employers want.  You’ve got a leg up on a job application if you have farm experience.  Just too many employers state this emphatically.  Too many of our local farm kids have been sought after for their work ethic.  Don’t even think about takingaway the opportunity for a parent to pass on that work hardiness, that legacy of family traditions, that COMMON SENSE that seems to escape more than half of our country right now! 

No, this isn’t about safety.  It’s about total control on us as parents, citizens and farmers.  And if you think, “Oh but we don’t live on a farm.  This doesn’t affect us.”  Just wait.  Just wait.  It won’t affect you?  Let me count the ways.

 
This entry was posted in Family Fun, farm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ranting is so easy

  1. RAFrenzy says:

    Oh, brother. Maybe the legislature needs to just cut to the chase and have laws against stupidity. Wait. That would put most of them out of business.

    Usually the most sensible people I’ve known are those who grew up on a farm.

    Like

  2. Mrs. Ruff, I am really enjoying your blogging. I think we need to get you up there in DC to grab a few of the “Representatives” by the ear.

    If this regulation happy administration is so bent on “protecting the children”, then why do they contradict themselves by violating the constitution with insurance mandates that supposedly grant phony “rights” for people to stifle the production of said children, i.e. contraception, sterilization, and abortion? They can’t see past the fog of their own arrogance.

    I was talking about this farm kid issue with Dad a while back, and we were both baffled as to why the government persists to attack the farmer, the very heart of our civilization.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Mr. Schaffer…I think we’re pretty much on equal terms here now, so you can just call me “Queen”…just kidding, Debbie is fine tho!!

      Good question tho about why the government seems bent on harassing the farmer. I have a few theories but they would probably throw me back into the “Extraterrestrial” category! I’ll just say: how convenient would it be to have farmers gone, huge government-run farms “feeding” the world and/or foreign huge government farms feeding us? International negotiations with food instead of oil? I don’t know. Something to think about.
      Thanks for commenting, John. I value your input!

      Like

      • RAFrenzy says:

        I can see this is a plot. After all this time, you are going to make me get political. 😀

        I’m really restraining myself, but I will concede to this: the Republicans have made me a libertarian.

        Like

    • The Queen says:

      ahhh, Frenz, I have completed my mission!! LOL!!

      Like

  3. bccmee says:

    Sorry to hear about this. Seems we have enough laws and perhaps it’s time to start using common sense as you say.

    Like

  4. Myna says:

    All I can say is “YOU GO GIRL!” I am so glad that you posted this, I had not heard about this, Good information!

    Like

  5. prue batten says:

    This is beyond ridiculous, NB.
    My kids have been on farms since birth and they are now in their late 20’s and early 30’s. They had accidents but no more than the average kid in the town street falling off a bike. (maybe they should ban bikes, skateboards, scooters, extreme sports)
    They loved being on the farm with their grandparents and even now, today, Saturday, my son is giving up a day with his partner to draft sheep for market next week as his Dad is overseas and helped by his sister. Work ethic? Hell yeah! Good kids? Definitely.
    Friends’ grandkids ride on the backs of utes and tractors from the minute they can hold up their arms to be picked up and placed there. The littlies have an innate sense of danger when its required, never get sick because they are in the fresh air, know what REAL life is and where (God help those poor uneducated city kids) the world’s food comes from. They have a sense of solidarity amongst their own as well.
    If this legislation (like your DUST legislation) ever comes near Australia I shudder to think of the voting backlash.
    Your last comment… ‘if you think this doesn’t affect you…let me count the ways’: how very insightful.
    I’d say fight the legislation tooth and nail!

    Like

  6. The Queen says:

    WooHoo! Maybe we need to import a Tasmanian to spread the gospel?!!! Thanks for your comments! Well put, as usual!

    Like

  7. Marilyn says:

    During summer 2011 two Illinois girls, aged 14, were electrocuted by irrigation equipment in a corn field while detasseling.

    Three Illinois boys under age 16 were suffocated in grain elevator bins run by an elevator company. They were not wearing safety harnesses and shouldn’t have even been allowed inside the grain bins.

    Like

    • RAFrenzy says:

      I know things happen, but it would be interesting to see statistics of farm accidents involving children vs. accidents involving children working or even playing elsewhere.

      Perhaps I’m wrong, but my conclusion is anyone who was careless enough to let kids do something like that is typically not going to obey these laws being proposed.

      Like

  8. The Queen says:

    So sad. While I don’t know the specifics of these two cases, goverment regs don’t guarantee the absence of accidents, especially those that could have been possibly prevented. Unfortunately, we’re supposed to wear seat belts while driving too. But some don’t. And accidents happen.

    The 3 boys, altho, not technically a farm related accident, might bring into question why the elevator company allowed them to go without the harnesses. Those elevators are tricky!

    One of the life-changing events around this farm happened in 1987. Hub’s dad was out trying to dig a pit in order to “meet government regulations” when the dirt mover he was driving turned over on him, killing him instantly.

    Like

  9. BigBoss says:

    The point of this discussion is not a lack of concern for safety. We are in constant alertness to dangerous situations. Nothing frightens me more than the thought of loss of one of our son’s, daughters, or grandchildren. The loss of my dad on 10/13/87 was difficult for all of our family. He was an expert equipment operator–and 59–not 13! Accidents happen, often with no good reason–but to legislate intrusive, nonsensical guidelines, which–if they contained information akin to a full description of DNA–would still be inconclusive. Regardless of intention, all bases cannot be covered by edict. Practically, the ag community does an excellent job of education–and I can speak from 60+ years of experience, safety education has never been better. The great danger in all of this is simple–I have hired a tub full of teenagers–taught them amazing stuff–had the overwhelming majority come back, or write or call back and thank me for the work ethic and practical problem solving that they learned here as a teenager. They are adults now, and unfortunately, I cannot afford their children the same opportunity that I gave to them. So that generation will have to wait until they’re past 18 or 21–then they can come here as an adult, without the slightest idea of danger–and end up killing someone! Case in point. Years ago, when Travis was around 16, we hired our local pastor ( 30 ish) to drive a silage truck. He was a very competent driver of his personal car and pickup. We put him in a tandem truck hauling 15 tons of silage and I thought he was doing pretty well–until I asked Travis what he thought–His reply was simple–“Dad, he doesn’t have a clue about how dangerous this job really is.” Next day, he dropped off a small 12 inch inbankment and should have wrecked the truck. God was with him–only way to explain it! Interesting, a 16 year-old, who had driven a wheel loader since age 7 would have never thought about going off that embankment. In many cases, common sense doesn’t come with an age requirement. All this series of laws is going to do is move accidents to another age group–to a group that should actually know better.

    Like

  10. Pingback: A Happy Ending « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

