King Ranch Enchiladas since I didn’t get this up Saturday

Between the lettuce and chips awaits King Ranch Enchiladas

 

I really didn’t plan it this way re: all the King talk, but here’s the next recipe up…King Ranch Enchiladas.  My aunt gave this to me years ago… maybe 30?  I love this stuff.  A little guacamole, some tortilla chips hot out of the oven, a dollop of salsa and a pile of lettuce…doesn’t get any better that!!! Also, I’ve tweeked it a bit.

 

 

 

 

King Ranch Enchiladas

1 chicken, cooked, boned and diced (roasted, boiled, smoked even out of a can if you’re pressed for time)

1 can diced tomatoes w/chilies (any flavor of HOT you like as they come in all levels of heat)

1 can Cream of Mushroom soup

1 can Cream of Chicken soup

1 cup of chicken broth

1/2- 1 teaspoon of chili powder

1/2 medium onion chopped

Cheddar cheese-mild, sharp or Monterrey Jack or any combination of the 3!

Corn tortillas, 1 package

Saute´ the onions in 2 Tablespoons of butter in large skillet or roasting pan. When onions are browned, add the soups, 1/2 cup broth, chili powder, tomatoes and chicken.  Stir in well and heat thru slowly.  Spray a 9×12 pyrex dish with non stick spraythen pour in remaining chicken broth.  Add a layer of torn corn tortillas (about 6-8), then half of the chicken mixture, then a couple of handfuls of cheddar cheese.  Repeat the layering ending with the cheese.  Bake in a 350° oven for 45 minutes.

Variations:  Some like flour tortillas.  They work fine.  I like to saute´ some mushrooms w/the onions once in a while and black olives add a lot to this dish!  Sour cream on top is good too.  If I’m really in a “let’s make it from scratch” mood, I roasted some fresh chilies, cut them up and add them to fresh tomatoes just picked from the garden.  Or maybe tomatoes that I froze from last year’s crop.  But I do keep cans of tomatoes w/chilies in my pantry all of the time.  A Must Have in my kitchen!  You can assemble this the “right” way of making enchiladas…frying the tortillas, dipping them in enchilada sauce, adding the chicken mixture and cheese to each tortilla, one at a time…I just never take the time to go that route.  Yeah, I could be classified as lazy but I’d rather spend my time making some yummy guacamole to go with it!!! 😀

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to King Ranch Enchiladas since I didn’t get this up Saturday

  1. servetus says:

    Mmmm. King Ranch chicken. Love this.

    Like

  2. Suzann Coffey says:

    I don’t know if I’m brave enough to try anymore of your recipes!!! I’m still finding “icing” on my cabinet doors even though I’ve been washing them down for days! LOL——I’m going to copy this and one of these days, I’ll get brave!

    Like

  3. Great recipe! A lot like my mom’s. The cream of mushroom soup is different though, and sounds excellent!

    Thanks for coming by and voting for Richard! He’s catching Connery now:)

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      @Courtney…you could make your own cream of mushroom, but I tend to go for the easy way out! You’re welcome. Shall we post a link to the contest? I can’t seem to find it again.

      Like

  4. RAFrenzy says:

    One of my favorites! No self-respecting Texan would ever turn their nose up at this dish. : D

    BTW, I used to go to Albertson’s deli right before they closed and snag as many rotisserie chickens as I could for a buck a piece. The seasoning in a rotisserie chicken is usually great for this recipe. Plus, I’m lazy.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Nope and part of the Texas part of this is to have extra Tabasco at the ready. My guys can’t seem to eat this w/o it!

      You are so smart…I’ll bet the Albertson folks loved seeing you come in!! Yeah, I get the lazy part! Guilty.

      Like

  5. servetus says:

    laziness=good sense in So. Texas, at least in terms of comfort. Roasting a chicken for a dinner recipe heats up the house at midday, who needs that?

    Like

  6. The Queen says:

    That’s weird…when we left WestTexas, the 2 hardest things to leave behind was:
    #1 my pedicatrician, Dear Dr. Dodson
    #2 Skaggs Albertson soon to become just Albertson
    I haven’t found an equal to either but Target comes close.

    Like

Leave a Reply

