I am surrounded

Front porch plaids

But it’s ok because the surrounders are bluebonnets so I don’t mind being the surroundee! On that note…Did you know that Texas has an official tartan? I didn’t either until I tripped into the Texas Scottish Heritage Society site that states:

The Texas Bluebonnet Tartan was conceived and designed by June Prescott McRoberts (1922-1999) . She designed a pattern to represent the state flower, the Bluebonnet, using the colors and symmetry of the flower itself. She received much help and guidance from the Scottish Tartan Society Museum in Scotland and later registered the Bluebonnet Tartan with the STS Museum, the official register for tartans.

If you go to their site, scroll down for the full story.  Then, if you’re interested, you can to Scotland Forever, based in Dallas, where yardage can be ordered.  Their website is a bit confusing so I ended up calling them.  Yeah, I couldn’t resist. I ordered a yard of the wool.  And it arrived 3 days later!  Fast service!!  I’ll definitely make  scarf for my coat (yep, it’s blue wool made by my mother around 20 yrs ago and still a great coat!)  And then maybe a pillow or two.  I might be able to talk Mother into making a Tartan Bear?  The yardage is 54″ wide, so it’ really more material than you’d think!  Do any of you have some great ideas out there? 😀

I’ve also found 100% cotton  at The Scottish Weaver that is 1/3 the price of the wool but takes 2-3 weeks for delivery from Scotland. I’m considering an order of some for either a tablecloth or a table runner?? 

Texas Bluebonnet Tartan

 Update:  I talked to Mother yesterday and she says the Staley Cemetery is loaded with BB plants.  Same story from West Texas reporter, Myna, although, traditionally, West Texas produce fewer blooms than Central Texas. 

Next up on the Bluebonnet Front?  Christmas balls! Tiles! Jewelry!  Paintings!

This entry was posted in Bluebonnet Bloom Blogreports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am surrounded

  1. bccmee says:

    If you’re surrounded, please be careful. Bluebonnets have pistils. 😉

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Have you gone on that date with the Guy lookalike yet? I’m thinking you have and you’re on some cloud. Or you haven’t gone yet and you’ve totally lost it!

    Like

  3. Connie says:

    Ooooo! Lovin’ the Texas Plaid. And to find this our on Texas Independence Day!!! I see place mats for the lovely bluebonnet china or the suggested table runner, or Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! I ponder…………… A Texas shaped pillow!?!?

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Purdy ain’t it, Connie?! And thanks for jogging my memory. I was thinking about Texas Independence Day last wee and was pretty sure it was something other than today, but hey, I’ve been away for a while. But still Texan at heart!!

      Like

  4. Teuchter says:

    That’s a very pretty tartan TQ! As it is a registered or authentic tartan I wouldn’t call it a plaid, being from Scotland, although I know tartans are commonly referred to as such. How about a heart shaped pillow to show you love Texas? 🙂

    Like

  5. Teuchter says:

    I was just checking out the “Cakes de Soleil” posting and was delighted to hear the song “Annie Laurie”. In a way it seemed strange that it was on a page for St. Patrick’s Day treats as it is a Scottish song, but I won’t complain as it is sung beautifully. 🙂 Incidentally the town of Maxwellton which you hear at the beginning of the song is where my late father-in-law was born. His surname was Beattie and names like Dalbeattie and Douglas can be seen on maps of the area. The Region is now called Dumfries (pronounced dum-freece, with emphasis on the last syllable) and Galloway.

    Like

  6. The Queen says:

    She always has beautiful music at Cakes de Soleil to match her gorgeous cakes. I was thisssss close to getting to go to Scotland this month! Wahh! One of the days, tho, I’m going!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

