FanstRAvaganza, Day 2, The Hobbit: There and Back Again in Textiles!

click on banner to see ALL blog post links

Well hello there, FanstRA3 followers!  Welcome to my blog and my take on The Hobbit! I’m new to these parts unless you count lurking for Quite Some Time!  I started blogging last Oct. about life on our farm, my grands, recipes, my general interests with a splash of movies, books and RA. I’ve joined in on the fun this week and Day One was WAYYY beyond my expectations!  You’ll find links for additional FanstRA3 blogs at the end of this post to past, present and coming attractions  We’ll be talking about lots of stuff…Stick RA and his adventures, games, accent academies, Hobbit holes and architecture, location sites…all RA related!  😀

One of the absolute BEST things about participating in the internet world, specifically the blog world, are the wonderful people you meet along the way who have talents and creativity you never dreamed of!  

 Last year I watched BBC’s North and South, starring Richard Armitage, and my interest in Northern England was prodded so I had to investigate that as well as Elizabeth Gaskell’s biography and the actors involved and that led me to blogs and fansites literally worldwide which sent  me to music blogs, art blogs, youtube videos and graphics tutorials and related movie blogs. It’s been interesting to say the least!

Especially in The Hobbit world!

I have found Hobbit swords, Hobbit culinary arts, Hobbit clothing, Hobbit fan fics, Hobbit drawings, Hobbit character analyzation sites, Hobbit toys, Hobbit…well, you get the idea.  Lots and LOTS of Hobbit Stuff out there!!!!

And one of my favorite Hobbitty sites has been the Hobbit quilt squares/blocks.  Yeah, I’m going all Home Economics on you! But seriously, Fandom in Stitches is featuring There and Back Again: a Block of the Month aka TABABOM, centered around the book and upcoming movie, The Hobbit.  And most of you reading this are aware that Richard Armitage is starring in the movie as Thorin Oakenshield!!?? Yep, I thought so. (So far, no Thorin block but surely he’ll be appearing?  Or his Orcrist?) 

So, after contacting the Fandom in Stitches administrator, Jen, and with her approval,  I give you the first six months of “There and Back Again” in textiles!!  Each month, a Hobbit themed block is designed by one of four quilters, then the block pattern is presented at the Fandom in Stitches website for participating quilters to try their hand at making. 

All photos courtesy of Fandom in Stitches

Gandalf by Schenely Pilgram

The Cloaks at Bilbo's House by Michelle Thompson

The Road, by Lilja Björk Sigurdórsdóttir

Sting by Michelle Thompson

  

The Precious by Lilja Björk Sigurdórsdóttir

The Bridge to Rivendell by Jen Ofenstein

You can click on the FiS banner above and that will link you to the Month 6 pattern, The Precious. Scroll down to the monthly listing to see the variations of the blocks created by other quilters and the printable patterns. You can also go to their Flickr site to view more blocks AND then go to their FaceBook page for still more photos!! Get adventurous and try making one! ( I’d start with The Bridge to Rivendell, which was IMHO, the easiest! And if I can do this, you can!!) Jen has all sorts of “Help” links to encourage you in your first attempts at “paper piecing”. And when you’re done, you can make a pillow out of your block or frame it or make an entire quilt!!!!  😀

FiS also features quilt blocks from Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Cars and many others!

So get the sewing machine oiled up, grab a Diet Coke and get going!  I dare you!!  I have three blocks completed and hope to do more! 🙂

BONUS!!!!  Each month, a submitted quilt block is chosen as the Block of the Month winner and is awarded a nifty prize like this bracelet, made by Foxwise.

Bracelet by Foxwise

The bracelet features a quote from The Hobbit, “there is nothing like looking, if you want to find something…”, from Chapter 4.  Cool huh?! And there’s another bonus…that’s a Thorin quote! 😀

 

 

 

 

~§§§§§§§§§§~

All FanstRAvaganza3 links can be found here, including the Fandom, the Hobbit, the Fanfic, the King Richard III  and the Freeform strands with all daily posts in all strands…kind of our Table of Contents!

For more of THE HOBBIT in FanstRA 3, Day 2, see my partner’s post at Mrs. E.B. Darcy’s blog.

Yesterday’s Hobbit posts are at Ana Cris’s, Hobbiton:The Magic of Movies and at Mrs. E.B. Darcy’s, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

Tomorrow, THE HOBBIT tagteam continues at Ana Cris and IngeD3

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to FanstRAvaganza, Day 2, The Hobbit: There and Back Again in Textiles!

  1. bccmee says:

    This is far too cool! If I was going to make a quilt, it would be a Kindle cover.

    Like

  2. Way, awesome. Can’t the movie just come already?!

    Like

  3. jazzbaby1 says:

    It’s really better if I don’t handle sharp things (let alone sharp things attached to motors) so I’ll just stand back and admire these. Wow, what an awesome post, Queen!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Thanks, JB…but you worry me with this shap object thing. Your mother obviously didn’t let you cut out paper dolls theN?

      Like

      • jazzbaby1 says:

        No, I had the perforated ones. A couple of years ago my husband’s company took all the really good scissors from their lab and replaced them with safety scissors for some reason. Mixing things that go boom? Sure. Using something sharp to cut a piece of paper? No no, you might hurt yourself.

        Like

    • The Queen says:

      LOL…sounds like a government-run entity=no common sense=out to lunch.

      Like

  4. Maria Grazia says:

    This is creativeness 😀
    Counting down for the real thing on screen!!!

    Like

  5. jasrangoon says:

    Wow, this is so cool! If I could make quilts, this is what I would want to make.

    Like

  6. Pingback: F3, Day Two! One voice to thrill them all, and Armitage to bind them! « Me + Richard Armitage

  7. If I ever find a blanket with Richard’s picture on it…. The very thought of Richard keeping me warm at night gives me chills. Cool stuff!

    Like

  8. servetus says:

    wow, these are beautiful. Now: a quilted version of Thorin’s face?

    Like

  9. Hi Queenie,
    I love it! These Hobbit blocks were quite beautiful! I’m a latent quilter–meaning no time, but it would be a passion of mine if I did have the time. Ha! Thanks for sharing!
    Cheers! Grati ;->
    P.S. That bracelet with the Thorin quote almost makes me want to take up quilting again. But, Ihave a 6 foot Christmas table runner that I have to finish first. I’m just not sure which Christmas it will be done by. Ha!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Yeah well I know enough about quilting to probably be dangerous! I used to help my grandma and great-grandma quilt but that was a long time ago! Glad you enjoyed it and good luck on the runner. I hear your pain! I have a sewing room full of #projectsyettobefinished! Isn’t that bracelet wonderful?

      Like

      • servetus says:

        I learned how to quilt, too, as a teen, but it was crosspatch and then we tied the quilts together with yarn. Somehow I fear yarn ties would come through at just the wrong places in Armitage’s face.

        However: can one purchase that bracelet? I thought it was really cool.

        Like

      • The Queen says:

        @Serv…Naw, that wouldn’t be good having a tie right in the middle of his nose! The tie technique was what we used initially to anchor the top to the batting. Then Grandma would do those tiny little stitches for the real quilting.

        I am fortunate to have a quilt that my paternal great-grandmother pieced and my maternal great-grandmother quilted for me when I was a teen. Both were alive when I turned 21! Isn’t that remarkable? I was I smart enough to ask them questions about their lives at the turn of the century. Nope, to my everlasting dismay.

        Like

  10. rnbondo says:

    Reblogged this on The Film Discussion.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Yep, just click on the Foxwise name and it’s supposed to take you to the website. I ordered mine last week…one like the pic and one with another Thorin quote!

      Like

  11. Mulubinba says:

    Wow – this is amazing!! I have absolutely no aptitude for sewing (used to break out in a cold sweat when my children needed costumes). I really, really admire people who can sew!

    Like

  12. The Queen says:

    LOL on the cold sweat! I used to make all of our boy’s (3 of them) shirts, play shorts and pjs…well, my mom did some too. She was the professional seamstress! For real. She still quilts and sews at 83!

    Like

  13. Faboamanto says:

    I am constantly amazed at how creative people can be! I don’t sew myself, though both my mother and grandmother did, so I’m mightily impressed by those that do. I can’t wait for the Thorin block and/or the Orcrist one. The bracelet is wonderful.

    Like

  14. The Queen says:

    These gals are VERY creative for sure!! I’m going to see if I can coerce, uhmmm, ask sweetly if they’ll do a something Thorinish for us. Maybe if I bribe, uh, offer some apricot jam? Oh Jeeeennn….I have a challenge for y’all!

    Like

  15. itsjsforme says:

    Oooh, these PP Hobbit blocks are giving me itchy fingers! They make me want to dust off the Bernina and get to work! Would love a Thorin block, and an Orcrist block as well. Thank you for sharing. 🙂 Love that bracelet!!

    Like

  16. phoebe says:

    Thanks for sharing! I think I might give a square a try and give up my knitting to lose weight scheme. If your hands are full of cloth, needles and yarn, you can’t be stuffing face at the same time.

    Gandolf design is amazing! and MUST HAVE BRACELET!

    Like

  17. Ana Cris says:

    Beautiful work. Do has the a quilted version of Thorin?
    Better not, I would not leave the bed!

    Like

  18. fedoralady says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Deb, it’s really cool. My mother belonged to a quilting group at her senior center for years and they produced some gorgeous stuff–but never a Hobbit quilt. 😉

    Like

  19. Pingback: FanstRA Day 4: The Hobbit..a piece of cake « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

  20. Pingback: Stopping to Admire the Variety « RAFrenzy

  21. Pingback: What’s new in The Hobbit Fandom? « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

