Recipe Saturday: Ridiculously Risotto

Kara's Risotto with the first parsley of the spring!

Thanks to The Kitchen Chaotic, I have a new recipe to share.  She posted it HERE last week and it looked and sounded SO good that I had to try it.  So today was the day.  And I have to say, this is a great recipe.  It’s something a bit different for me and will make a wonderful side dish for many meals!

The only change I made is the kind of rice.  I used brown instead of the Arborio.  That’s all I had or ever buy.  I followed the recipe exactly other than extending the cooking time by about 20 minutes, due to the brown rice.  I could sit down and eat this and nothing else. 

So, here we go…get out that kettle, some rice, a little booze (I had a bit of Marsala that I use with my Chicken Marsala recipe.) and let’s get going! And thanks Kara at The Kitchen Chaotic!

Mushroom Risotto

(adapted from Giada DeLaurentis’ recipe at the Food Network)

8 cups canned chicken stock (or chicken broth)
1/4 cup unsalted butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion finely chopped
10 ounces portabella mushrooms, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 cups Arborio rice or white rice (I generally use regular white rice)
2/3 cup dry white wine
2/3 cup grated Parmesan
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, optional

The original recipe also called for peas. I didn’t have any on hand, so I left them out.

Melt butter in a large saute´ pan. Add olive oil and then onions and cook on medium low heat until translucent. Add garlic and mushrooms, simmer until the liquid from the mushrooms has evaporated and the mushrooms are tender.

Stir in rice and continue to cook for about 5 minutes. At this point, there will not be much liquid in the saute pan. This is important because it allows the rice to toast and develop a deeper flavor. After 5 minutes have passed, add the wine and stir often until incorporated.

Add the chicken stock one cup at a time, continuing to stir often. Add the next cup of stock when the previous cup has been absorbed, which should take around 3 minutes each. To give you an idea of how much stirring ”often” is, I pretty much don’t step away from the stove for more than a minute during this stage.

Continue to cook until the rice is creamy and tender, continuing to add stock by the cup until the rice is cooked through. It should take about a half an hour. That’s right, 30 minutes. Come minute 25 you’re probably going to be cursing me, this recipe and the rice to “freaking cook already”. It’s okay, I’ve been there. I won’t be offended. Also, I notice it makes my arm realllly tired.

Add the parmesan, salt and pepper, stirring well to incorporate. If you were to add in peas, you would add at this point in the recipe.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recipe Saturday: Ridiculously Risotto

  1. servetus says:

    Interesting. I’ll admit I’m skeptical because I only have ever made risotto with arborio. To me arborio says risotto. I make brown rice a lot, white rice not much. How does it get creamy without the arborio?

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    I don’t know! It just did. Maybe not as creamy as the arborio but I can’t compare as I haven’t tried it. I just have tons of brown rice because it’s so healthy and we love it. I’ll definitely be trying it with the arborio just not till I can get to the grocery store. Did you put peas in yours? I was wondering about brocolli…it sounds workable but maybe it would overpower the flavors of the other ingredients???

    Like

    • servetus says:

      I don’t put peas in mine — this is essentially the recipe I make except I use vegetable instead of beef broth to keep it kosher:

      http://www.of2minds.org/spice/archives/000873.html

      Pretty much anything Italian I make at all I learned to make from Marcella Hazan, Essentials of Italian Cooking. Someone gave me that cookbook during my dissertation-writing period and it was my go to avoidance strategy. She has many recipes including an excellent asparagus one.

      Like

  3. bccmee says:

    I wonder how recipes get their names? When I was a girl, I remember making baking powder biscuits and those only contained about a teaspoon of baking powder! I would call this recipe “boozy rice.” 😉

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Hmm, not real reason for my title other than my brain is fried after this week! There a jillion biscuits recipes…some use baking soda which means you need to usee buttermilk, some baking powder and regular milk, and some use both AND yeast…along w/buttermilk, ergo Soda Bicuits, Baking Powder Biscuits and Angel biscuits. And some recipes names have absolutely nothing to with their ingredients, like mine. Other than the rice is ridiculously good?! 😀

      Like

  4. Pingback: Quilt Blocks FollowUp « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

