Recipe Saturday on Monday

No I didn’t forget.  I had the pics ready and everything.  Honest.  It was just a nutso day.  I had a 6 tier wedding cake to deliver and put final touches on…also 4 extra cakes, each a different flavor..carrot with pecan cream cheese filling, strawberry w/vanilla, chocolate with peanut butter filling and lemon w/vanilla.

So that was a total of 10 cakes to bake, fill, frost and decorate.  Thankfully, DiL #3 baked the 4 extra cakes and DiL #2 helped me the day of the wedding.  We were both tired as we finished the final touches just as the wedding was ending! It was close!!!

The first thing I did when I got home Saturday night, was run the whirlpool tub full of hot water and jump in.  BB said he thought I was dying in there as he listened to my achey breakey moans and groans.  Wow, that was refreshing!

Now you know how I spent Saturday the whole week.  Wedding cakes are time intensive!!

So, no…on Saturday, recipes were the last thing on my mind.

But today…I woke up with recipes on my mind.  Guess I felt guilty.  Blogs can do that to you.  It’s kinda weird.

And therefore, I offer an old tried and true meatball recipe.  I attended a funeral at the Presbyterian church nearby years ago and the church ladies served these meatballs by the piles.  I was thinking that I needed to go to Presbyterian funerals more often!!

There’s a million different variations of this recipe but this one is The One.  I make these a lot…I always have hamburger on hand for obvious reasons.  I always have oatmeal as BB eats the stuff daily.  The rest of the ingredients are items everyone keeps on hand, except maybe the Liquid Smoke. But I almost always have 2 or 3 bottles of it in my pantry for this recipe and the brisket recipe I posted a while back.

The main reason, though, that I make these little jewels is that they’re something that BB can nuke in between phone calls and working cattle/feeding cattle or whatever he’s in the middle of.  In 45 seconds he has a hot meal!  And that is a good thing!!

Presbyterian Meatballs

3-4 lbs. lean hamburger

1 can  (13 ozs) evaporated milk

2 cups quick oatmeal

2 eggs

 1 cup chopped onion

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder or salt

Salt and peper

2 teaspoons chili powder

Mix all ingredients into a large bowl and blend ingredients well.

 Take a small scoop and make meatballs, placing them in a large pan. or 2 9×13’s, either metal or Pyrex that has been coated with non-stick baking spray like Pam OR take a paper towel with shortening on it and coat the pans.

In a small bowl ( I use my 8 cup Pyrex pitcher) and mix well:

2 cups catsup

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 Tablespoons Liquid Smoke

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 cup finely chopped onion.

Pour or spoon over meatballs and bake for 1 hour @ 350º, uncovered.

The beauty of this recipe is that you can freeze these before you bake them or after…like cook one pan and freeze the other. Or freeze both. Or cook them and freeze them after they’ve cooled.  Or keep one pan and give the other away. And if you have barbeque sauce you like, use that as a shortcut sauce for the above one.  It’s Monday so if that’s confusing, chalk it up to Monday AM brain freeze.

Another tip: if you want to freeze these but think you may need the baking dish/pan in the meantime, freeze them in the pan, then take them out and place the meatballs in a freezer Zip Lock bag. When you’re ready to use them, place the meatballs into a sprayed pan, thaw for 30 mins or so and bake.  You may need to bake them slightly longer if they’re still frozen a bit.

Now whip up your favorite potato salad, put some pinto beans on and make some cornbread and you have comfort food abounding!!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe Saturday on Monday

  1. Pingback: Hey Mom! What’s for supper? « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

