Noteable Wednesday! Make that Thursday.

Although Word Press was having some issues yesterday, I persevered!

A day late but it’s time for some music!!!

Several months ago,  I received a  YouTube link  featuring the French production of “Le Petit Prince”. I remembered there was a children’s book with the same name (written by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry)  but had never read it.  Very seldom do I take the “theatrical” blog posts seriously.  Usually, they’re touting some obscure movie or off-Broadway production or unknown outer Siberian punk rock band.  Something about this recommendation caught my eye though…maybe what was written about how wonderfully creative a song was set up: “Brilliant directorial idea right at the start of this clip: the little prince takes his magnifying glass down and the rose appears “in the glass” beside him.” 

OK, sounded interesting.

So, I clicked on the link and wow, was I glad I did! I was immediately hooked! And that was just Part 5. Click on the link below for a taste of the music. Part 5 includes my favorite songs. So far.

The costuming was outstanding!  The music was absolutely mesmerizing!  And the sets were innovative and flat-out gorgeous.  The voices of Daniel LaVoie (the pilot), Cathialine Andria (the rose) and Jeff Tetedoie (the little prince) were ethereal yet strong. I ended up listening to and watching most of the 14 parts offered at YouTube.  While web searches revealed that Riccardo/Richard Cocciante wrote the music and Elizabeth Anais was the lyricist, not much was shown as to the musical’s actual production history…it played in France in 2002-2003 and in Shanghai in 2007 and Hong Kong in 2008. 

The story line may be a bit confusing so to get you started, I’ll just say that the setting is WWII and a French pilot has crashed his plane into the desert where he meets The Little Prince, who is a version of his childhood self. It could be interpreted as  a lamentation of lost childhood and simpler times.

Let me know what you think.  I’m curious how other non-French speakers react to this.  Although I haven’t seen any other adaptations of this book, whether animated (and a new one is coming in 2014) or a stage production or a movie, I can’t imagine enjoying any of them as much as I do the French version.  A US production would be ideal?!

The link to a synopsis of the book (in case you aren’t familiar with the storyline) is at Amazon (this is the 1974 movie starring Richard Kiley in the Lerner and Lowe adaptation ) and  Wikipedia, which also gives an overview of the author’s life and other works.

BTW, I had NO idea Richard Kiley could sing and can he ever!! Yes, this is THE Richard Kiley who played Dr. Ferrand in “Christy”! Click HERE for clip…start at about 5:00.  Or watch the whole thing!

I really could listen to “Près D’Elle” and “La Rose” all day. Also “Dédicace“…well, you get the idea.  Yeah, Amazon hooked  me again.   Mp3 downloads are done!!!

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

