ID please?!

 Update:  Yep, Frenz was right!  This is a Question Mark butterfly.  Never heard of it or saw one.  Ever.  It seems they like elm trees for egg-laying and those I have in abundance!  Sort of explains why this one showed up.  So, I learned my something new for the day, thanks to Frenz!!  😀  Off to see if I can find more.  BTW, the question mark part of this little beauty is on the underside of its hindwings…a little teeny tiny white/silver ? mark.  Who knew?

photo courtesy of ohiohistorycentral.org

This gorgeous thing nearly landed on me while I was potting up plants on my handy dandy potting bench/table/stand.  It wasn’t moving too fast so I’m thinking it’s on its way out.  But for the life of me, I can’t seem to find out exactly what butterfly it is. Anyone?

Not the greatest pic but is was a super quick snap with my phone camera!

 

BTW, it was 65° this morning at 10:30…now it’s 99°.  What is going on?!!

 

 

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ID please?!

  1. Teuchter says:

    We had a similar butterfly in the UK and it was called the tortoiseshell butterfly. I checked on Google and I think you will agree!

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    I looked and the Tortiseshell seems to have more orange and minus the ? mark. But really pretty! Wonder if I’ll stumble upon one this summer? The butterflies are outstanding this year! Right now, teensy white ones are all over my lavender and stock.

    Like

Leave a Reply

