Sword Art, G-d and Sundays

Sword_of_the_Spirit_1_large[1]

There are moments that you experience complete and utter wonder.  The kind that leaves you wordless.  All you can do is sit and look and soak the experience in.  Maybe not an epiphany, in its truest form, but wonder just stops the clock while you catch your breath.

It seems like, more and more, I am slowing down with this “wonder” syndrome!  Simple things like a beautifully decorated cake.  Or a photograph. Or a child whispering in your ear.

I was flipping through a Southwest Art mag last summer while we were on our yearly trek to Colorado.  Southwest Art has been a favorite of mine for years.  I can spend literally hours just sitting and turning pages!  I found this work of art 3 pages from the back of the magazine but it was a full page ad.  The artist, Ron DiCianni, was being featured in the Turpin Gallery in Jackson, Wyoming.  His favorite subjects revolve around Christian themes and he does them well!

This is my favorite though.  For lots of reasons.

Blessings to you al this June Sunday!!

This entry was posted in Art, Christianity, My One Weakness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sword Art, G-d and Sundays

  1. Thanks for sharing that, Queenie! The painting is awesome and beautiful! I’m taking a day off from work today (we’re taking turns on Sundays and today is my turn) and I was just about to read the Word. What an incredibly fearsome and holy image to inspire me! Thank you! xxx

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      To be honest….when I stumbled on the sword picture, I thought that it must be one from The Hobbit. Obviously, I had been reading too many blogs featuring swords! When I realized what it was, I was amazed!

      Like

  2. alfagetti says:

    Hi “Queenie”, previously known as “Fussy” to me and the gang over on the N&S board! 🙂 I learned all about your blog from Pat, and I’ve been reading bits and pieces here and there, getting a feel for it. As I’ve already told Pat, if anyone deserves their own blog, it’s you. I must say, you’re every bit as “crazy” (and I say that with great affection) over here as you were over there [nodding head emoticon]. But you’re not just crazy funny – that I always knew – but you’re crazy BUSY! Honestly, how do you keep up to everything?? . “Ain’t no flies on you!” (Ha! How’d you like that? Just been on here a few minutes and I’m already countrified!)

    That’s all for now; just wanted to post a little something to let you know I”m around and will keep checking in on you. By the way, remember that “Texas Millionaires” recipe you gave me a few Christmases ago? Guess who had no choice but to make them again this year? Looks like you started something, and as Tevye would say, “It’s a tradition!” 🙂

    Blessings to you, my friend.
    Monica
    xxxx

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Oh. My. Gosh.!!!! It’s alfa/Monica! I am SOOOO glad you stopped by. Yeah, there are those who thought surely my craziness would wane with the years, but doesn’t look like that’s happening!

      The Millionairres are a hit again??!!! Yay! So glad you tried them. I posted the same recipe here last Dec. They never fail to gain new fans!! Looking forward to seeing you here LOTS girl!!

      Like

  3. Kitty says:

    “dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Amen, Kitty, amen!! That painting of The Sword sends my mind all over the place!

      “Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of
      G-d.” Ephesians 6:17

      Like

  4. Teuchter says:

    Sorry I didn’t have time to post a comment before I headed out to church this morning! I think I spent a good half-hour trying on then discarding clothes that I thought might be suitable! It was so grey looking outside, even though it didn’t rain, that is was hard to decide! 😦 I have to say that is one powerful and emotive picture, Queenie. I love it! I’ll have to try to print it out so I can show it to friends. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I know what you mean…some Sundays, I’m dressed as soon as I hit the floor. Others, I’m not dressed until BB comes in totally exasperated. Hard decisions! Glad you like the pic!

      Like

Leave a Reply

