Hey Mom! What’s for supper?

Well, today it’s Presbyterian Meatballs

and cantalope that I just cut up…

and corn right out of the field…

But YOU SAID we’d have Fried Squash today…oh yeah, I did.  Ok, here ya go.  (Thought I’d forget didn’t you?)

Fried Squash

Pick 4-8 medium size squash from your garden. Don’t have a garden?  Maybe the grocery store will have some?  If they do, it’s your lucky day because they’re usually not expensive.  But pick carefully.  Summer squash has very tender skin.  Skin that fingernails can go right through very easily.  Fingernails with yucky germs.  Leave those in the bin!

Wash under cold water with a veggie brush.  Set aside. With a sharp knife cut off the ends. Slice the fat part of the squash off from the skinny neck to make slicing easier.  Slice the fat part vertically in half.  Then slice each half into 3 or 4 slice, depending on how thick you want them.  I like them on the thin side.

Lay the slices on a cutting board and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  The salt will bring the moisture of the squash to the surface and give something for the flour and cornmeal to stick to.  Let set a few minutes.

In a cast iron skillet or Dutch oven, pour about 1/2 ” cooking oil.  Heat on a med-high setting.

Meanwhile, stir together about 1/2 cup of flour and 3/4 cup cornmeal in a bowl.  Take a slice of squash and coat it with that mixture.  Shake off the excess flour thoroughly before you place it into the hot oil.

Carefully, place the squash into the skillet, making one layer of squash.  Cook for about 3 mins, turn with tongs and cook another minute or two.  You’ll decide on your own how you like your fried squash..I like mine sliced thin so it will cook up crispy and fast.  That way I get to eat some quicker!  Big Boss likes his thicker and not crispy so they take a bit longer to cook up.

When done to your specifications, remove from the skillet, let the oil drip off, then place on a layer of paper towels to drain.  When your platter or whatever you use has a layer of cooked squash, place another layer of paper towels on top of them and place the next batch on top.  Keep layering, always having one layer of squash on a layer of towels.  That way they don’t get soggy.

Watch your oil carefully that it doesn’t get too hot!  If the flour in the bottom of the skillet starts getting brown, turn the heat down on the skillet.

I always have too much flour and cornmeal so I put the leftover in a plastic sandwich bag and store it in the fridge for the next round of squash.  Same with the leftover oil, but I strain it to get all of the squash bits and flour/cornmeal out.

And that’s it!  Pretty easy but it takes you standing right there coating, frying, coating, frying. You can’t abandon the skillet to go check emails or fold clothes or watch the news!  When I was a kid, it was my job during squash season to dip and fry, turn over, remove and start all over again. 

I like to use my heavy Dutch oven as the flour doesn’t burn as easily and the cleanup is less…no grease popping out on the stove!

The biggest problem is having enough.  It goes fast around here.  Someone is always snitching out of the platter and then you wonder where it all went.  Of course, since I planted the stuff…and watered it and babied it and weeded it and picked it…I get first dibs.  It one of the perks of being the Chief Gardener and Cook.  😀

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hey Mom! What’s for supper?

  1. A Scattering says:

    What the Sam Hill are Presbyterian Meatballs?! Off I go to Google to find out…

    Like

  2. servetus says:

    Pay for squash? That’s like paying for rhubarb in my book, or plums, or zucchini — someone you know always has some.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      LOL, you’re right, but we do have some city folk in our presence so I thought I’d best explain that they CAN be found. Also in garden markets. And IF I get desperate enough in early spring, you’ll find me picking over the squash at the grocers!

      Like

  3. bitsy says:

    here on the right coast in the “garden state” you have to seek out a stand. only a few dedicated people have a victory garden (usually little old Italians) so a grocery store’s produce section is the only place, certainly not farm fresh

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      So I’m a little old Italian now?!!! LOL!! not so little, pretty much old, and def not Italian!! But gardening like a crazy woman. Grands are tending it while I’m in TN, thank goodness, or I’d return to a jungle! Wish you could be there!

      Like

  4. Fancy Nancy says:

    Aww….reminds me of my mother’s and grandma’s fried squash! Now days, we toss ours in EVOO, salt, and pepper and throw on the grill! The lazy way, but really tasty! I also use an all natural Veggie Wash (made with organic citrus) that really cleans them from grit, pesticides (even though I buy organic) and natural fertilizers! Makes them taste garden fresh! We city folk are fortunate to have some great organic/ natural food grocers in the DFW metroplex! I really have the room to garden, but never have the time….when I retire, maybe? Plus I’ll have to cut back on those organic prices then! Ha!

    Like

  5. Fancy Nancy says:

    I get the veggie wash at Sprouts….don’t know how wide spread they are. Central Market has some, but I like Sprouts best Whole Foods or Trader Joes probably has some too. Its by Beaumont Products, Inc out of Georgia. Bet you can order it online. And a tip for the grilled squash: cook directly on the grill to get char marks, but it won’t get very tender unless you wrap in foil after chargrilling and sit on a higher rack to cook until tender. We grill all our veggied this way. Asparagus is really tasty too! But we have discovered that corn on the cob is even better microwaved with the husks on! Just Google for directions. It is SO easy to pull the husks and silks off that way! So sweet and yummy!

    Like

  6. The Queen says:

    The only one of those stores that’s within 60 miles is Home Depot. Next time I’m out that way, I’ll look for it. I don’t worry about the packaged produce as much as I do the stuff just hanging out in the bins….but still….

    You just stole my thunder. We’ve been cooking corn in the microwave for years…actually, after the boys left. Before that, I cooked corn in a humongous pot on top of the stove! It’s so easy nuking it!!! Remember all those hours when we were kids that we spent husking and silking mountains of corn?!!

    Like

    • Fancy Nancy says:

      Have always hated to de-husk and de-silk raw corn! Can’t believe microwaving it makes it so easy!

      Like

      • The Queen says:

        Sorry. Just saw I hadn’t replied! The hours we spent on corn. Grandma would park us out under the big live oak right across the fence from the horse pen where they would dump literally the back end of a pickup full of corn that the men had picked. All 7 of us kids would shuck corn. I always got stuck spilling the corn as I was picky. Not too smart was I? The women were in the house cutting corn of the cob, cooking it and sacking it up tp freeze. We could work up a LOT of corn in a day’s time. BTW…the horses were VERY well fed. 😉

        Like

  7. grammyjj says:

    Sure would like some of that fried squash mixed with fried okra and onions? HINT HINT

    Like

  8. The Queen says:

    Hey if we can find the makings, well have it…at some point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

