Hobbity news from Texas!

What’s that you say?!  Hobbits?  In Texas?  Hang on to your cowboy hats gals.  There’s gonna be a fest in Austin, featuring The Lord of the Rings trilogy, based on the book by J.R.R. Tolkien.  You know the ones?  Peter Jackson.  Gandalf and Frodo and Viggo. And the creepy little guy who eats disgusting things?  Yep.  Those. 

Big Boss can’t stay awake during them.  Can you believe that?  I mean THIS is Tolkien for Pete’s Sake.  What is wrong with this guy?  I guess it could be the feeding cattle in the middle of the night thing. But still…I find all of this very exciting!  Must be just me…

Looks like central Texas is boning up on their Tolkien geekness early, according to my top source who researches these things. (Thanks, Dianne!)  These people will be prepared for the premiere of The Hobbit in December.  Yes they will.  That is if they don’t pass out from all of the booze and food offered up at this gathering!!

This event will be taking place in downtown Austin at the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema on July 29th.  It looks to be quite a night….12 hours of Tolkien served up with Hobbit-style menus and drinks. And their menu will include a First Breakfast, Second Breakfast, Elevensies, Luncheon, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Supper!!!  Just like in the books.  And the movie.  I think.  I’m assuming The Hobbit will have true-to-the-book foods, like…hmm, appears I need to refresh my Hobbit Knowledge?!

After the madness at the San Diego Comic Con last week, it seems that may be the beginning of a crazy year concerning All Thing Tolkien. 

Which reminds me…anyone see Batman yet?  I think I want to see it.  Christian Bale is a favorite here and I’m really curious to see how this film is going to be handled.

PS Instead of finishing this last night, I kept a friend awake who was driving home from Comic Con. When she called, I was nearly in the shower…but  it was worth postponing my shower for her tales!!  Has she ever got the tales to tell!  Links later.  🙂

Note: Just called theater and Batman won’t start until Thursady at midnight.  Grrr.  Yahoo Movies said today.  Pays to double check!!!!

This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hobbity news from Texas!

  1. servetus says:

    That theatre has been doing LOTR watches for quite some time — and the food they serve is *excellent*. 🙂

    Like

  2. A Scattering says:

    You have your “Big Boss” and I have my “Writer”. The Writer and I are going to see Batman this coming weekend. Hoping against hope that there will be a trailer for The Hobbit (including the world’s sexiest dwarf, need I say more??).

    Here in southwestern Ontario, Canada we’re looking at a temperature of 36C and a humidex of 43C (translation 98.6F and 109.4F, respectively) – stick a fork in, I’m done!! Hope you’re staying cool there.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      The web showtimes for our area show that it opens tonight. Not sure I’ll be able to get BB off the tractor in time to go. Temps here are staying between 99 and 101. Much better than those 110 days with little or no humidity. However, I fly to TN next week where the humdity is a tad higher. Looking forward to the trip but not their weather!! Maybe you could do a review at your blog on Batman?!

      I’m hoping for a Hobbit trailer too. When we went to the theater a couple of weeks ago, I asked the teenybopper ticket guy is f they were showing it. All I got was a cricket chirping. We could possibly be the last state in the Union to get it.

      Like

  3. Melinda says:

    Husband, son, & grandson saw Batman in 3D last week in Austin. They all said it was fabulous! The 3D made it appear that audience members were flying with Batman.

    Like

  4. Melinda says:

    Oops! That was Spiderman, not Batman! You can delete my post!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I haven’t been as jazzed to see Spiderman as Batman but maybe I should drag hubs to see Spiderman. Get him off this place for a few hours!! Corn and cattle markets have got all my guys in a tizzy!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

