Squash Euphoria

A squash bouquet!

Yep.  There is such a thing.  When I was a kid, I wouldn’t touch squash unless it was fried.  That gloppy, goopy stuff that my Mama called Stewed Squash was something to run from.  As fast as my scrawny legs would take me!  No way no how!

Same thing with pickled beets.  Ick.  The entire family tried to poke those nasty thing down me, but I resisted courageously and wouldn’t swallow.  The question in my mind was always “WHY?!”.  But my grandma and aunts and mother would slave away on growing the purple things.  And then sweat over them to pickle them?  Why???! (Just a thanks to my aunt who sent a BOX FULL of this stuff to me when my uncle came up to help with silage harvest!  BB loves them!) Imagine my dismay when I discovered as a new mother that BEETS were actually on Gerber’s menu of veggies for the innocent little mouths scattered all over the USA!!!  Again…WHY?!!! 

But back to the squash..upon growing my own yellow summer squash many moons ago, I decided to try my hand at “stewing” them.  Not the Family way though.  Nope,  I am a rebel.  I “lightly” cooked the squash in my pressure cooker with some cut up onions.  Actually, lots of onions.  And finished it off with a good  dollop of butter.  OH MAN!  I liked THIS stuff! Who. Knew?!

Then along came the microwave, and my squash finally found it’s rightful place.  In less than 10 minutes, we can have sweet, semi-crunchy oniony squash that’s fit for a king.  Or queen.

Flash forward about 20 years, and sweet Retta came into our lives…and our church.  She came to her first church lunch with a new dish in hand…Squash Casserole!  Truly a devout Baptist without question!  Any Baptist church lady knows that casseroles will fix all of the ills of the world.  And this one did.  So, in honor is Miz Retta, here’s her recipe!  (and also because I have LOTS of squash right now) I hope you love it as much as we do!

Retta’s Squash Casserole

1 cup sour cream

1 can Cream of Chicken or Mushroom soup

1 1/2 lbs. fresh yellow squash

2 large carrots (I usually cut up whatever I have, which is most likely a sack of little carrots.  They add color and a nice crunch!)

1 large onion

1 package chicken dressing/stuffing mix (like Stove Top)

1/2 stick butter

Salt and pepper

Slice all veggies up into a covered casserole dish that is microwaveable.  Add a splash of water as the squash will create moisture enough. And then some. 

To give you perspective, the can is cream of chicken.

Cook in microwave w/lid on for about 8 mins. Stop and stir well.  Cook another 5-10 mins. or until veggies start getting soft.  You don’t want to completely cook them as that will be accomplished later. Carefully pour off liquid in the sink.

When the veggies are done, add sour cream and soup and mix well.  Gently stir in half of the dressing mix and spoon into a buttered casserole dish.  Spread evenly and top with remaining stuffing mix.  Drizzle melted butter over the top and bake for 30 minutes at 350°.

I’ve had Non-Squash Eaters at my table.  Many times.  They will politely but hesitantly take a small spoon full of this casserole, declaring that they really don’t like squash.  I smile and say that’s OK.  And then they proceed to snarff every bite down like it was their last meal.  Yahooo!  Another victory for me!!  I know.  It’s not polite to gloat but still…

This casserole goes well with just about anything.  I usually serve it with a non-casserole meat dish, like Chicken Fried Steak or meatballs/meatloaf or grilled steaks or a ham.  Guaranteed hit anywhere you take it!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Squash Euphoria

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    Back when growing up next to you, Pearl (Momma) could make the BEST stewed squash ever! Never slimey or runny..always tender and sweet (yes she added sugar) She did that until she stopped cooking, and we all loved it. So I grow up loving squash – hers. Of course she got it from the garden or Sligers. But I could never get mine to ever taste the same as hers. I think she was witholding a special secret of how to do it! HA! Mine is better now since I started buying it at farmers’ mkts or organic and using olive oil and no water to cook it. I must try the microwave next with the olive oil. And love it on the grill. And this recipe looks great, too. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Trust me. You’ll love this! You can jack the calories down by using low-fat sour cream and soup and spray on butter Pam and maybe use the stuffing on just the top.

    I’m pretty sure Mother added sugar too. Maybe that’s why I didn’t like it? But then, I didn’t like much of anything when it came to food. Except tamales. I loved tamales. Still do. Just certain ones. LOL! See I’m picky about those too.

    Like

    • Fancy Nancy says:

      Yeah I do remember you were a picky eater even though your mother was a great cook! I, on the other hand, would eat almost ANYTHING….thus more fat pictures of me and skinny ones of you! LOL

      Like

      • The Queen says:

        LOL!! I really don’t know how anyone could stand me eating at their table. Would you believe I wouldn’t eat brownies forever because they looked weird? Now, it’s just please pass the entire pan. Quick!

        Like

  3. Kitty says:

    Love. Love. Love stewed squash. Try it w/ fresh grated parmesan cheese – Heavenly X Infinity!. Your casserole is the same as my late MIL made. Always good.

    Like

  4. thanks for sharing, you can always use another squash recipe at this time of year. i’ve not heard of stewed squash before. is it made in the oven or stovetop?

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      3bgb…just wash 4-6 small to medium squash well, cut off ends, slice in half and then slice into about 1/2″ slices. We like onions in it…add a bit of sweetness…maybe 1/4 large onion, sliced up. Salt and pepper and a splash of water…you won’t need much. Add some butter on top, put the lid on and nuke for about 7 mins. or to taste….we like ours a bit crunchy. Some folks like it soupy. You’ll find how you like it fast enough!!! If you’re doing it stove top, same thing, just add a little bit more water and cook for maybe 15 mins. It’s been so long since I cooked it on the stove that I’ve forgotten!!!

      Like

  5. Fancy Nancy says:

    If you cook on the stovetop and add water it will be soupy unless you cook it until tender and continue simmering with the lid off to evaporate the water. That’s what my mother did. And some squash have more water than others.The fatter squash have morre than skinnier ones. That was where Mother excelled – picking her squash! I’ve started adding EVOO to mine instead of water and that helps. I really must try the microwave – no chance of scorching it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

