We have a break

Sort of…no cutting for the next 1-2 weeks, depending on the weather.  That means…it’s  time to do all of the things I haven’t done since….uhhh, I went to TN. No, before that.

Guys are whipped so they definitely needed a break.  Son #2 started his break by grabbing hold of a rattlesnake.  The nasty reptile had parked beside son’s boot in the garage so when son went to pick up his boot, he got a hand full of snake instead!  Good thing this happened to the kid who was always bringing in snakes in jars, dead snakes, putting snakes in my freezer to use as bait for I-don’t-want-to-know-what…not sure that prior casualness towards creepy crawly things kept him from screaming like a girl, but that’s the part of the story I don’t know.  What he did after he was close and personal with said snake. 

If it had been me…just call 911.  Fast.

And just in case you were wondering…you were weren’t you???….if I had more grandkid pics…seriously?  I caught 2 of the younger ones out on the front porch swing this week…just tawkin’.  I’m sure it was a serious conversation like “Wonder when Meemaw is going to feed us?” or “Should we throw the cup or the ball on the roof?”  or “Did you see all those pears over there?  Maybe we should ‘help’ pick them.” or “That shirt really brings out the blue in your eyes.”

As I head out to the backyard where weeds are threatening to sabotage everything in sight, I’m loving the coolness of the day and the smell of clover and hay (the wind is out of the south!) and thankful that I live in the country.  You city folks would run me out of said city in a New York minute…I don’t fit.  At all!

Quick prayer request…a friend of mine here delivered her baby prematurely a couple of weeks ago.  Her sweet baby girl had prior invitro surgery for spina bifida and the doctors had hoped that premature labor would be avoided.  It wasn’t and the baby is doing great in spite of being a 3lb. preemie with serious issue.  So they’re both in St. Louis, MO…a loooong ways from home, family and friends! Now, the mommy has a blood clot in her leg and was rushed back to the hospital last night for treatment of that.  She’s feeling a bit overwhelmed, as she should, and could use some extra prayers today.  Please pray for Elise and her sweet baby girl, Chloe?!  Thanks!!!

This entry was posted in Family Fun, farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We have a break

  1. Kitty says:

    I love your blog. Just prayed for your friends.

    Like

  2. Prayers sent up for both “girls” and a welcome rest to you. Blessings.

    Like

  3. Fancy Nancy says:

    Our son was also born a preemie 27 years ago (you would never know it a even a year later, thanks to prayers), so I have such a soft spot in my heart for these early tiny ones and their partents. I will pray for this family, too.

    Like

  4. Suzann coffey says:

    Sweet Picts of the kiddos! You didn’t say if the rattler bit your son. I’m assuming not or you wouldn’t be writing ANYTHING on Facebook or anywhere else!! But please clarify.

    Like

Leave a Reply

