And now a word from The Aunt

 
 
Special treat day!!!!  We have a guest blogger.  Who is family!! (Do you hear “We are famileee, I got all my sisters with me…”) Let me introduce you to my aunt…my mother’s youngest sister, who is just five years older than me!   Boy could I tell you stories about this woman but the thing is…she could tell a bunch about me, so we’ll just leave it at that.  For my peace of mind. 
 
I won’t use her real name for privacy purposes, so let’s just call her…oh I don’t know…Sissy…Weezie…oh, I’ve got a good one. ” Tot”.  Yep, that’ll work fine.  Good old “Tot”.  Kinda catchy dontcha think?
 
Anyway…I grew up always thinking that any day, my mother and daddy would bring home a baby sister.  Never happened.  Got a baby brother but never a baby sister.  Epic disappointment.  But really, I had a big sister and just didn’t figure that our until years later.  “Tot”.  So we spent our hours chunking rocks at snakes and each other and climbing trees and making mud pies.  Oh boy we were mud pie aficionados.  Or chefs.  Gourmet mud pies were our specialty only we didn’t know what gourmet was.  Maybe we still don’t? 
 
My grandma had several out buildings that were used for chickens, storage, tractors…behind one of them was an old kitchen cupboard…no idea where it came from.  But we spent hours and hours stirring up our concoctions and carefully spreading them in whatever we could find in the dump…usually tobacco tins or the like. 
 
I was so smart that when we took a vacation to White Sands, New Mexico, I collected white sand to take home with me.  I was now a certified genius!  I had WHITE sand and could just imagine how gorgeous an icing that white sand would make for our nearly black mud pies.  Sadly, I have to report that the very instant the water hit that white sand, it turned an ugly, muddy brown.  Icck.  Not what I had in mind.
 
But through the years and thousands of mud pies later,  using  acorns, cattails and whatever we decided might decorate our baked delights, we both became wives then moms and cooks along the way. 
 
“Tot” has always been one of my main sources of new recipes.  And even though she was always mean to me and picked on me incessantly, she’s always been a good sharer.  🙂
 
I could tell tales about this woman for hours but I’ll stop there.  As further background:
 
She was a tough basketball player.
 
She made insane crepe paper dresses.
 
She had the thickest, toughest feet known to mankind and used to make fun of me cause I was a tenderfoot.
 
She married her high school sweetheart.
 
She hosted our wedding reception in her home.  In November. On opening day of deer season. Whoa.
 
She has 2 sons who handed down their clothes to my boys thus saving us tons of $$.
 
She has 6 grandchildren (I have nearly 11 so I beat her on that deal!!) Our granddaughters playing at a family reunion…her’s is the one pink on the right.  The blondes are mine/ours!
 
She cans like a crazy woman although she has, in recent years, taught her hubby everything he needs to know about canning and he does a lot of it now!  COOL!!!
 
She and I have extremely similar tastes in almost everything.  That makes it easy to shop for her.  I just say to myself, “Hey, I like this so I’ll bet “Tot” will too!”  And then I buy it.  And sometimes, I just keep it for a while.  Which drives her insane!!!  LOL!
 
She loves George Strait. 
George. George Strait.

George. George Strait-photo courtesy of georgestrait.com

So do I.  Once she got front row seats (or nearly) to one of his concerts in Dallas.  I have never heard the end of it.  She one-upped me on that one and will live on that for the rest of her life. (NO, she did not even invite me.)
 
So, here’s her Caramel Brownie recipe!  It is To Die For, mainly cause it has about 4,572 calories per bite.  At least! Oh and all of the brownie pics are her’s.  I am sooo proud of her!  😉
 
 Caramel Brownies

 
1 box German Chocolate cake mix
3/4 cup melted butter or margarine
1/2 cup canned milk
1 cup chopped pecans
 
 
Mix the above ingredients & divide in half.  Pat half of mixture into a greased 9X13 pan& bake at 350 for 6 to 8 minutes. Remove from oven & sprinkle with a small (8oz) bag of semisweet chocolate chips.
 
 
 

While the above is baking, melt a bag of Kraft caramels with 1/2 cup canned milk & pour on top of chocolate chips. Pour or spoon/spread the remaining first mixture over all & bake at 350° for 15 minutes.
 
Note from “Tot”…
 
This is from longtime friend & hair-dresser & has

been a favorite of my boys, 45 & 42 & now all the
grands & especially grandsons. At Christmas my
boys have been known to hide the brownies not
realizing that double & triple batches are made
and frozen. They are made upon request, birthdays,
or just because.
 
Note from me: ah HA!  Now I know where to look for those brownies.  Bad bad auntie hiding them from poor relatives.  I must remember to up my “coal” supply for you Christmas stocking.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

