Music to drive by…

The past 100 or so years, I’ve been driving home to Texas multiple times a year, usually by myself.  It’s at least an eight-hour drive, depending on how many antique stores happen to catch your eye.  In my case, that would round the trip out to about 10 hours.  Or maybe eleven!  Have I mentioned I love antiques?

It all started when my father-in-law gifted me with a crate of vintage canning jars.  They had turned blue with age and I was hooked from the gitgo!  The blue was what got me!

And it’s been downhill ever since.  Don’t even think about bringing the subject up to Big Boss.  He runs.  Same thing with genealogy.  He doesn’t quite get that either.  But that’s another story for another day…

Back to the music.  🙂  Music is another love of mine. About two years ago, I was introduced to YouTube fan videos, following my introduction to the 2004 BBC production of North and South, following my introduction to the 1995 BBC production Pride and Prejudice…see how this works?

In trying to find out more about all of the above, I ran smack dab into the middle of a new “love”…YouTube.  Guess what?  You can find almost any music on YouTube!!  Who knew?  Well, probably lots of you knew that, but I didn’t until then!!  Hours and hours later, I was still sitting in front of the computer screen wondering if there was a chance I could find oh say, Richard Chamberlain singing a 1960’s teen song like “Three Stars Will Shine Tonight”…and..I FOUND IT!!!  How cool is/was that?

But back to…uhhh…oh yeah, driving to Texas.  So, for years, I listened to tapes.  Then I moved on to CD’s.  After that it was my beloved Mp3 player.  Now, I just plug my phone in and off we goooooo!!!!  Actually, I have to conserve my phone charge, so for my long trips, I whip out my trusty little red Sony Walkman and for the next ten or so hours, music is my companion of choice…interspersed with conservative talk radio!! 😀 Yeah, I’m one of those, so let’s just leave it at that.

So, I found fanvids like this one and this one. Which lead me to  the following:

 
And in the process, discovered a recording group named The Immediate.  Holy cow!  This stuff was right up my alley…something between classical, rock and soundtracks. Their album Trailerhead was chock full of pieces that were amazing.  Inspiring.  Moving.  Enough descriptives? This is called “Generations”.

 

The Immediate lead me to E.S. Posthumous…man oh man, I could listen to their Unearthed album all 500 miles!!  Here’s on of my favorites, “Estemos”…makes me wish I danced.  But what would you dance to this music?  The tango? I can see it in my head but am so ignorant of ballroom dancing, all I can do is sway to this.  Just heavenly!

And then, there’s “Isfahan”!!

 

So, when I saw that The Hobbit’s new trailer soundtrack was by The Immediate, I did a quick search and came up with this YouTube link.  The album, Quantum has not been released yet though, so this is just a medley of the album tracks. No idea which one will be used for The Hobbit trailer, but sounds good to me!

Which brings me to my Most Probably Favorite song EVER.  Listen and weep.  Ralph Vaughn Williams at his very best!!!! It’s nothing like The Immediate or E.S. Posthumus in style or genre, but Williams score is as sweeping and cinematic as they are!

I found this on yet another trip…this time to Manhattan, where our oldest son was attending college.  It was on the radio and it was love at first note!

 

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music to drive by…

  1. Teuchter says:

    Such wonderful pieces, Queenie!! Thank you! I find I become quite emotional when listening to good music like this. There is nothing to beat a live concert but these are the next best thing. I was brought up with classical music and it is my first love but I embrace music of many genres and surprise myself sometimes with what i enjoy these days.

    There are many pieces which touch my heart and soul and these are two of them. Both are by Sir Edward Elgar and both conducted by Daniel Barenboim as I am in awe of him as a musician, conductor and also as an amazing human being. Through music he has sought to bring Arabs and Jews together in a way that I’m sure many thought would not be possible through the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra and it was watching a program about the orchestra and seeing these remarkable young people who had been brought up, in all probability, to hate one another, sitting side by side playing the glorious “Nimrod” from Elgar’s Enigma Variations which actually moved me to tears. I just have to hear the first bars of the piece to feel the emotion welling up inside me.

    The second is because I love the cello – for various reasons! 🙂 – and I had been able to watch the whole Europa Concert when it was aired by our local Knowledge Network. I have it saved on my PVR for good measure!

    Forgive me for taking up so much space! I hope you don’t mind me adding these links! I just hope they work! 🙂

    Like

  2. Teuchter says:

    Oops!! I didn’t realize the actual videos would show up!! 😦

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    Seriously? I love that you shared your music!! There’s always room for more music. 🙂 I hadn’t heard either of these particular pieces! Wow!!!

    Like

  4. Teuchter says:

    I had always thought that Elgar’s music was known worldwide but on reading about him today I discovered just how hard it was for him in the early days for his music to be appreciated as he was a Roman Catholic in a predominantly Anglican England. Happily that has changed and his music is played by many orchestras. One of his better known pieces in of course Pomp and Circumstance more commonly called “Land of Hope and Glory” which is often considered to be a second National Anthem in Britain – or maybe nowadays that should be England!! Scots have their own views on that! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

