so you don’t like cucumbers…

 

 

Granny’s Cucumbers

I don’t believe it!  Those wonderful long, green things that grow on a vine all over the place.  Or maybe on a bushy plant, thanks to science.  Or the kind that you don’t burp up all day.  Or all week. And now there are yellow ones, bushy ones, burpless ones, round ones, space-saving ones…take your pick!

When I was harvesting my very first garden..which by the way, was probably my BEST garden, ever…my boys would help me at the tender ages of 7 and 5 with the baby watching in the stroller.  They would eat the grape tomatoes and cucumbers as fast as I could pick them.  We rarely got to this house with many more than a handful for their dad!

This has been a banner year for cucumbers, squash, pumpkins…and maybe okra.  I’m not committing on that one, but if the weather holds for higher temps this week, I might actually get my second cutting.  Am I frustrated?  Am I discouraged.  I WILL PREVAIL!!

In the meantime…I am picking cucumbers every other day, bringing in from 8-30!  That means that Big Boss and I are living on cucumbers.  Now, when I was a kid, I wouldn’t touch a cucumber…unless it was a dill pickle and then only the really tiny ones.  They were nice and crunchy!!  The only way we ever prepared them back then was to douse them in water and vinegar, slice up onions with some salt and pepper and then soak the cukes in that for a day or more.  Didn’t appeal to me one teensy bit.

Then I married into a Northern/Yankee family where the mama poured a thick mixture of something all over her cucumbers and darned it they weren’t good.  Better than that!  Delicious!!!  So, have a look at Granny’s Cucumbers.

Peel and slice up 8-10 cucumbers…about 1 1/2-2″ in diameter.  Any larger and the seeds get hard.

In a large bowl, mix about 8 cups of water with 2 tablespoons of salt. 

Pour the salt water over the sliced cucumbers and let set in the fridge overnight.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together:

1 pt. cream

1/2 Miracle Whip

2 Tablespoons sugar

2 Tablespoons of white vinegar

Mix till thick and creamy.

Drain the cucumbers and fold into the cream mixture.  Serve cold.

Now all of those amounts are an educated guess.  If you like them sweeter, you add more sugar.  If you like them less salt, cut that down.  There’s no right or wrong way!  Well, that’s probably not true.  I can’t imagine mixing in some tabasco or chocolate.  But then there are some weird stuff going on in RecipeLand!!

This entry was posted in Family Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to so you don’t like cucumbers…

  1. Donna says:

    Yummy. Mom always fixed them like that, but would also slice onions and add onion rings!!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I’ve seen them with onions but wasn’t sure I’d like the oniony with the sweet taste? I fixed a boatload for a church supper tonight and have a few left. May have to try onions tomorrow!

      Like

  2. Platinum says:

    I love a cucumber recipe! Thank you for sharing this one. 🙂

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    Welcome! Of course, dipping them in Ranch Style dressing isn’t too bad either!!

    Like

  4. Kitty says:

    No matter if you dip them in the world’s finest chocolate, they are still cukes on the inside. I’ve tried them over & over. I just cannot like them unless, of course they are pickled (does your salt and vinegar ingredients constitute pickling? – maybe worth trying this one). If there is one little diced bit buried deep in a salad loaded w/ dressing, an abundance of cheese, bacon, ham, purple onions, name any possible salad ingredient, I can still taste the nasty little bit. I can hardly type this for thinking about it. But don’t let my taste or the lack thereof influence your dining joys. I’ll save your post & try it next year when the cukes come in @ Rocky Knob.

    Like

Leave a Reply

