Me and Madi

“Yay Meemaw is here!!! Pick me up PLEASE?!!”

In case you don’t know…we have a new granddaughter who is absolutely gorgeous!!!  Of course she is, you’re thinking.  Yeah, I know, I know…but she really IS.  I promise and I can say that very objectively.  She’s got the cutest little patch of dark hair on top of her gorgeous head and creamy skin that is to die for.

Me and Madi haven’t got to spend much one on one time with each other since she graced our family.  But she came visiting the other day.  Tuesday to be exact.  That is the day that all of Madi’s big sisters go to gymnastics and their mom determined rather quickly that Madi needed to be elsewhere.  The whole gymnastics experience is pretty intense with all those little  girls wanting to hang out with Madi and besides, it’s a 3 hour deal.

So, Madi came to see her Meemaw.  I was on the tail-end of baking wedding cakes and figured we’d have plenty of time to talk.  Her mommy had her all snuggled down in her carrier and plunked her down on the rug in the living room.  And she snoozed away.  

I was mixing up the last cake, when I got to wondering if she was going to sleep away all of our girl time. Checked on her and nope, she was sound asleep.  So, I washed dishes while the cake baked.  Took it out of the oven, tiptoed over to her carrier and those baby blues were still closed.  Crud, I thought to myself.  WHEN are we gonna play?!

As I put that last cake on a rack to cool, I could’ve sworn I heard her snort or maybe cough or possibly pass gas.  That was my signal.  She was begging me to hold her.  Reluctantly, I swooped down and whisked her up and darned if she didn’t wake up!  Finally.  I know you’re probably what kind of granny would deliberately wake up a sleeping baby.  A desperate one. 

And so we talked a bit and she smiled and smiled and smiled.  Which was a real relief as I did NOT want her crying.  A pacifier will pacify just so long and since I didn’t have the equipment to feed her, I was relieved that she was happy to be held and talked to. This kid has obviously been spoiled rotten and not by me.  She adores being talked to. And she’s got the smile thing down pat.  In fact, she’s so good at it, we spent most of our time talking.  I did manage to work in a diaper change before her very “full” mommy hit the front door.  By “full” I mean that mommy had nursed her 3 hours ago and was really, REALLY needing to  feed a hungry baby.  Who by the way, was more than happy to oblige her mom.  After all, 3 hours is a long time for a little girl to go without a snack.

This entry was posted in Boomers' Corner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Me and Madi

  1. alfagetti says:

    That is one absolutely lovely baby!

    Like

  2. Fancy Nancy says:

    I’m not so biased, so I can say definitely that she IS absolutely gorgeous! I hope I have a grandaughter some day! 🙂

    Like

  3. ChristyB says:

    Congratulations, Meemaw!!! She is adorable! I love her smile!!!

    Like

  4. Rachael Herring says:

    Beautiful!

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    Madi is a beautiful addition to your grandchildren, Deb. Looking foward to seeing her image on her pony added to the current 10 on the hill. BB working on it in what little spare time he has?

    Like

  6. heartfelt says:

    Ditto, Meemaw! She’s a beauty! But considering her parentage and grand-parentage,it’s easy to see why she’s a pretty girl!!

    God bless her! She’s blessed to have you as grandma, too!

    Like

  7. Suzann coffey says:

    Awe, she is beautiful!

    Like

  8. The Queen says:

    Thanks for humoring a proud granny, gals!! And BB has #11 horse in the planning stage, altho it will have to wait for winter months when things aren’t so crazy around here…if there is such a thing!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

