While the muffins bake and the politicians debate…

Both pans are made by Nordicware. Got them at Williams Sonoma a couple of years ago. Don’t know if they still carry them.

 

Update: Coffee Cake Muffins recipe HERE

I’ll try to type this really fast.  So much to do.  So little time!!!!!!!  You’re probably wondering why that is…well, I’ll tell you.  Big Boss and the Class of ’67 are celebrating their 45th reunion this coming weekend and I’ve got company coming, Little House on the Prairie outfits to fix up, a new blog site to finish up, a house to clean and people to feed.  Oh, and groceries to buy although we got most of those last Saturday.  I also have acorns to plant.  No more watching!!  Last one dropped today.  I felt like I just gave birth.  Without the nine month wait.  Not all bad.

So here’s what I cooked in my acorn cakelet pan and pumpkin cupcake pans Saturday afternoon…like I had nothing else to do.  Here’s how it went down…

I was looking for a specific cake decorating tool. In the process of looking for it..and eventually finding it…I thought to myself, “THIS IS A MESS!”  So, next thing I knew I was cleaning out my Cake Stuff Cabinet and re-organizing everything.  That’s when I rediscovered my acorn and pumpkin pans from Williams Sonoma.  They were Must Haves.  I could not live without them.  And I have used them every fall, more or less.

So, I put them on the countertop and finished cleaning.  Looked pretty good but then I couldn’t find my recipe for the pans…the acorn recipe was for a mapley syrup type cake that was yummy.  However, the recipe didn’t surface.  Anywhere.  So, I was off to the computer to do a search, with no success.  I thought that Williams Sonoma surely had all recipes on file.  Wrong.

I decided I didn’t need no stinkin’ recipe.  I’d just use one of my own.  That’s when I remembered I had butter and cream cheese all measured up and setting in the spare fridge.  See, I was going to make my Pecan Pound Cake last week and was missing other ingredients so I put the already opened and measured butter and cream cheese on a plate, wrapped it up and told it I would be right back.  And then promptly forgot it.

But I remembered then and said hello again and off we went to the oven. (I move fast don’t I?)

I had forgotten how much I love this cake.  So I thought I’d share it.  It may the last you hear from me this week.  We’ll see.  Not making any promises. But my cabinet is clean and my kitchen smells good. Those are good things?!!!

Tell me these aren’t cute.

Original cake from Southern Living by a Brownwood gal, Daphne Harrell.

Pecan Pound Cake

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

1-8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened

3 cups sugar

6 large eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup bourbon (I use more like 1/8 cup  being the good Baptist that I am πŸ˜€ and make up the difference with a little more vanilla and water to get to the 1/4 cup mark.  1/4 cup of  booze overpowers the cake, IMHO!)  πŸ™‚

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups chopped pecans, toasted ( I tend to go a little heavy on the pecans. And also chop them up into big pieces.  This is one time I ditch the nut chopper dohicky and chop by hand.  Using a knife in my hand.)

Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed til creamy.  Gradually add sugar, beating at a medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating just until the yellow yolk disappears.

Sift together flour and salt; add to butter mixture alternately with booze, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Beat batter at low speed just until blended after each addition.  Stir in vanilla and pecans. Pour batter into a greased and floured 12 cup tube pan. (The Bak-Klen baking spray is fantastic for this!) Bake at 325ΒΊ 1 hour and 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  (I baked mine right at 1 hour and 15 mins.  Their timing dried it out a bit.)

Cool in pan on a wire rack 10-15 minutes.  Remove from pan; cool completely on wire rack.

I also bake this recipe in mini-bundt pans and the pumpkin mini-cake pan for around 20 mins.  The acorn cakelets bake in about 15 minutes.  Just watch carefully and test for doneness.  Each oven is different.

Personally, the cakelets are my favorite way of baking this recipe.  They cook fast, cool fast and get eaten fast.  You can just pop them right into your mouth like a cookie! No waiting around for things to cool.  I like that.  And I like these.  A lot. πŸ˜€

Oh, and here are the muffins…recipe to follow. Sometime.

CoffeeCake Muffins for the weekend. Yes, I will have to hide them…

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to While the muffins bake and the politicians debate…

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    Really cute muffin tins. Will have to check WS to see if they still sell them. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    Not sure if they do, but you run over and borrow mine anytime!!

    Like

  3. Judy Mull says:

    I would love to see your recipe for the coffee cake muffins. They look so much better than any other I have seen pictured. It really is worth a thousand words! Thanks and take care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

