How Blessed am I?!

 

Fresh out of the oven. I know. I’m plain old mean.

Pretty blessed, IMHO.

No this is not an “I’m thankful for…” post a la Thanksgiving.

I just got to thinking about it after I hung the phone up this morning.

Big Boss had just called to see if the cinnamon rolls were out of the oven sucessfully. Yes, he was hungry.

Then a high school buddy called with news about another classmate. We exchanged our  various stories about what was going on this week, what our kids were doing, politics…and recipes.  Yep.  I told him about our trip this weekend and he asked for the recipes!  His wife may kill me for giving her a new job!! 

But I get to talk to friends, old and new, a lot via phone, emails, texting and FB…even Twitter as much as it drives me nuts.  And that, my friends, is a blessing.  To get to talk with my life-long best friend and next-door neighbor…texts from DiLs…phone calls from grands not to mention my mom, brother, aunts, etc.!!  To hear from a friend overseas like I did today…wow, Just WOW!!

Back to the recipes.  Chris at the Glick Mansion shared a particular recipe that is priceless.  It involves bacon.  No, not wrapped around the turkey like I saw on FB last week.  🙂  This is easy, fast and too good to be true!

So I fixed up all the bacon I had last night…5 slices. This is what is left. I saved it for BB. Maybe.

Spiced Bacon Twists

Thanks to Chris at the Glick Mansion

Mix all dry ingredients and store in a plastic sack:

1 cup packed light brown sugar

2 Tablespoons dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 cayenne pepper

1 lb. bacon…I use thick sliced Farmland

In a dish (I used a pie plate), rub both sides of each piece of bacon with the sugar mixture.  Be sure to press the mixture onto the bacon so it will stick well. Taking each end of the bacon, twist several times and place onto a rack that has been sprayed with Pam or the like.  This is important…ask me how I know!

Place the rack of bacon onto a jelly roll pan that has been lined with foil. Bake for 30 minutes at 350º.

Theoretically, you can do all of this ahead of time, refrigerate and cook the next morning.  Or cook it all up at once and it warms up great, either in the oven for a about 2 mins. or in the microwave.  Since, it’s candy, cold would work too!!!  😀 But I’m thinking one pound of bacon would just get this bunch started so I’ll probably do 2 or 3 at a time.

Candy for breakfast!!!  I’m thinking the grands will inhale this.  Big Boss did and so did I!! Make the dry rub exactly as above, then play with it.  Maybe use more pepper, less mustard?  Or no nutmeg but add a drizzle of honey on the bacon first then the dry rub?  As I think of variations, I’ll let you know…but you MUST try this!! Chris served this bacon with German Baked Eggs and Blueberry Blanket, dressed up with fresh orange and grapefruit slices and asparagus followed by…are you ready???!!!!  Crepes with a lemon sauce!  Have mercy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How Blessed am I?!

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    Oh, I must try this for my crew! Thanks for sharing! Have you made Chocolate covered bacon…it too is to die for too!

    Like

  2. Fancy Nancy says:

    Fry up thick bacon slowly til crisp (one recipe suggests to bake it) When cool, drudge in melted chocolate. Cool in fridge. Easy peasy! You can google it. Of course bacon anyway is a hit!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thanksgivng on the Farm, Ruff that is… | Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

  4. Pingback: Fall Eats | Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

