Echoes of Catherine Marshall and J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m a bit of a detail person.  This characteristic takes me in strange places!

In about my second of being a member of the Leadership Team for ChristyFest, I had a sudden brilliant flash. I had researched the home crafts of Christy, the book and Christy, the TV series and had done a presentation my first year on the Team. In following years, I did a program centering on the songs of Christy, both in the book and in the series for our Sunday worship time on the last day of ChristyFest’s events. It’s all in the details…music, arts, crafts…

I had researched two different years on the fashions of the early 1900’s and had consulted the costume designers for the TV series who graciously sent me photos  of the gowns she designed for the TV movie so I could attempt to duplicate them for a doll version of “Christy”…which my mother sewed up as a ChristyFest raffle item.  In fact, we made two different dolls…one of which still resides with my CF buddie, Bitsy! Details…I’m getting there…

christybridemail11

Christy, the Bride, sans veil…I know I have a pic of it, just can’t find it. Bits????!

ChristyBride2

Christy as a bride portrayed by Lauren Lee Smith and designer Kate Healey.

ChristyBride3

Lauren Lee Smith as Christy and Tom Blomquist, executive producer, writer and director, 2001. Photo thanks to Kate Healey.

ChristyBride5

Lauren Lee Smith, Christy and Stewart Finlay-McLennan, Dr. Neil MacNeill. Photo courtesy of Kate Healey.

 

Our first Christy doll was hand-poured and painted by a local lady.  I drew up the outfit as worn by Kellie Martin in the first scenes of the TV pilot.  Mother did the hard work..sewing it up! Well, the specially ordered wig took some time to style in the 1900 fashion!

Our first Christy doll was hand-poured and painted by a local lady. I drew up the outfit as worn by Kellie Martin in the first scenes of the TV pilot. Mother did the hard work..sewing it up! Well, the specially ordered wig took some time to style in the 1900 fashion!

 But back to my light bulb moment and details…I got to wondering.  What did Catherine Marshall sound like?  Surely there was a tape recording of her voice somewhere.  I searched.  And hunted.  I gave up.  Nothing was turning up.  Until…I mentioned my search to our local librarian.  She stood before me amazed.  She had a Catherine Marshall tape.  At her house!  Needless, to say I was thrilled as were my ChristyFest friends later that summer.  We finally heard The Woman’s voice and to say we were touched by it, would be an understatement! A detail finally realized!!!

So imagine my delight when I found a recording of JRR Tolkien reading a chapter out of The Hobbit.  I know, it doesn’t take much to excite me. But hearing the man who wrote this book and many more, reading in that wonderful accent a beloved book…well, I find it all intriguing and beguiling and amazing! Take a listen…

This entry was posted in books, Christy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

