A good day for enchiladas!!

My version of Sour Cream Enchiladas, only I forgot to add the sour cream to the cooked mixture so had to spread it on top. Flexibilty is my middle name. :)

My version of Sour Cream Enchiladas, only I forgot to add the sour cream to the cooked mixture so had to spread it on top. flexibility is my middle name. 🙂

Yep!  That would be today!  Three of our grands were coming over for the evening and Meemaw had nothing to eat…leftover Christmas candy, leftover Cutie oranges, 1/2 head of lettuce…hmmm, but I did have sour cream and cheese.  But did I have tortillas?  Oh joy…a full package in the back of the fridge!  So, Sour Cream Enchiladas it was!!

A friend gave me this recipe back in 1984.  It was my Go To dish for Wednesday nights.  Why Wednesday nights?  Well, that a busy day around here.  The boys had piano lessons 11 miles east so that meant I took them and a friend’s daughter over for the duration. Which meant, I had to have something already to go for supper before I left the house.  So Sour Cream Enchiladas became our Wednesday Night Dish. 

I assembled it before I left to pick up kids at school then popped it into the oven when we got home. This is easy as it has very few ingredients and takes about 15 mins to put together.

 Sour Cream Enchiladas 

3-4 teaspoons chicken bullion granules

½ cup butter

½ cup flour

2 cups water

8 ozs. sour cream

    Melt butter  in skillet and add flour.  Stir well over med. low heat.  Slowly add water while stirring.   Add sour cream and 1 small can green chopped chilies.  Pour ½ of mixture into oblong baking dish. (Spray with cooking spray to avoid messes later.) 

    In flour tortillas (I use 8” usually), place about 2 Tablespoons chopped onions,  a hand full of grated cheddar (Co jack, Monterrey) cheese and roll up.  Place on top of sour cream mixture with tortilla seam down.  Repeat using about 12 tortillas, more or less, depending on the size of your dish.  Pour remaining sour cream mixture over the top.  Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 45 mins.  Top with more cheese after you remove from oven.

    Variation:  Add 2 cups cooked chicken to sour cream mixture.  Great either way! I’ve even thawed out some of Mrs. Schwann’s Fajita Chicken and thrown that in the mix.

Some guacamole and chips are great with this and some lettuce on the side adds a veggie.  Throw in some salsa and you’ve got a great, quick meal!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

