Anniversaries, Doorframes and Giraffes

I was playing with our newest grand, sweet Madi yesterday afternoon.  We were in the floor talking about the cute giraffe than hung off the side of her carrier.  She was reaching for him but couldn’t quite get the eye-hand coordination thing right so she could grab the dude.  But she was able to bat him around some and create a funky little noise that made her smile.

As per usual, I had FOX News on anticipating the latest edition of “The Five”.  I know.  Some of you are out there right now gasping for air at the thought of anyONE watching FOX.  Get over it.  I’m not here to debate FOX News.  (However, MSNBC would be a different matter.  Kidding.  Maybe.)

At some point, Andrea introduced a new ad…well, I can’t describe it faithfully, so I’ll let you watch it without any commentary from me.

Got the picture?

This morning an old friend sent a link to this blog. We have always been of the same mind and spirit. This is no exception. Now, go to this link and read this! Don’t procrastinate.  Go now!!!  🙂

Notice any difference in tone?  Certainly the messages are different but the obvious opposite feel/tension/emotion is jaw-dropping.  Who is on the Lord’s side?  

Love the Lord you God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children Talk about them when you sit home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:4

Madi, I promise I will impress, talk, write and bind His commandments upon you. You other ten…you too.

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anniversaries, Doorframes and Giraffes

  1. Melinda Strickland says:

    Thanks, Debbie, for posting both of these links. I am taken back by the commercial–I do not even know how to describe its sad message, presentation, etc. Thankfully, the blog could not be more opposite in its promise of redemption, safety, and blessing. I cannot keep from remembering a group of high school girls years ago that shared about a friend whose mother had promised her a new car if she would get an abortion. They tried so hard to convince the friend otherwise, promising to stand by her throughout the pregnancy, but to no avail. Their tears (and mine, compounded by the fact that we were in infertility treatments at the time) are still fresh in my mind. I can only pray that somewhere, sometime that young lady received the message so wisely spoken in the blog.

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    I too have counseled a post abortion friend and her grief and regret was overwhelming. I guess the ad just creeped me out so much that I found it hard to breathe as I looked at Madi. It was almost as if Satan was speaking and laughing through that poor misguided man. Probably the most disturbing commercial/ad I’ve ever seen.

    Like

  3. Fancy Nancy says:

    Thanks for sharing the blog, She will be pleased that more eyes will see it and hopefully more ears will “hear” it. I have no words to describe my feelings for the commercial, but can’t see how it would draw one oz. of support from anyone even if they supported R vs W! Bluntly put, it was just plain stupid!

    Like

  4. rumleyville says:

    I found his “tearing us apart” line the only honest part of the ad. Only he was so disgustingly whatever that… nevermind.

    Like

  5. The Queen says:

    Exactly. Disgusting.

    Like

  6. Fancy Nancy says:

    Hope you read this! Keep forgetting to tell you the Dear Mama…blog has now been read in 30 countries! Isn’t that awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

