Another Precioussss. And still not blue.

On the bottom, "Ironstone Wedgewood"

On the bottom, “Ironstone Wedgewood”, flanked by a BLUE Limoges toothpick holder and 2 “custard” dishes that belonged to BB’s grandmother.  I found the matching spooner at an antique store in Texas. In the back is our wedding china, also, not blue.

When all of this genealogy preoccupation (Big Boss calls it a disease.) hit, it hit hard.  But it wasn’t my fault.  Actually, the blame should fall solidly on the shoulders of BB’s ancestors.  They wrote autobiographies. They kept records. They clipped newspaper articles. They wrote newspaper articles. They wrote letters by the ton. And they were pack rats like me.  Re: I found the Montgomery Ward ad for BB’s grandmother’s engagement ring…cut out of the catalog.  And…the ring. And the box it came in.  And the receipt. Seriously. 

That’s just the beginning though.  I was reading one of the autobiographies and at the end of it there was a page attached that listed all sorts of “chattle”..old timey word for stuff in the house.  I figured out that BB’s great-great grandfather had written it shortly before his death.  The paper listed the item and who was to inherit it.  Listed were all sorts of things that caught my eye and I wondered where all of those things were now.  Like the cheery wood pump organ and the fiddle they played at family gatherings and church…and the bean pot and the rocking chair and ….it went on, but really wasn’t as much as you would think. Especially when compared to today’s households.

Anyway, the bean pot was interesting and through a little detective work, I discovered that a cousin had the bean pot and lived right here!!  When she volunteered that information I asked if I could see it and take some pics.  She remembered that Grandma called it the bean pot because that’s what she always served beans in.  It was a white ironstone covered tureen, of sorts.  The best part of the dish was that it had an ear of corn right on top as the handle to lift the lid!  Too cool!

I came home that day with more family history and an idea…what IF I got on ebay and searched for that tureen?  So I did. And I found one and bid on it and won it!  I can’t tell you how excited I was the day the tureen arrived in the mail!!!  No, it wasn’t THE bean pot that Grandma has used but it was an exact duplicate and that was good enough for me!.

I didn’t have such good fortune in the search for the organ though.  Long drawn-out story, but I finally gave up on that one.  With sadness.  But that’s another story.  Remind me to tell you about that one.

This entry was posted in My One Weakness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Precioussss. And still not blue.

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    Lovely old tureen! I, too, love any kind of covered dish. In fact, dishes in general, are one of my passions…umm…obsessions too. Is there a cure?!! 🙂 Have far too many sets and pieces!

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    No known cure other than stay out of antique stores. And that’s not foolproof. I can find pretty dishes just about anywhere. Including old sheds…remind me to tell you that story. 🙂

    Like

  3. Fancy Nancy says:

    Antique stores, estate sales, garage sales, thrift stores, junk places, oh my! For years! The thrill of the hunt! We need to swap stories about those finds! 🙂

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Those places jut reach out and grab us don’t they?! Also the thrill of finding something you weren’t expecting at all…like my red Barbie outfit. Right now I’m hunting for Barbie high heels to go with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

