Vintage Stuff

I’m being snarky today.  Ever since Sunday night’s episode of Downton Abbey, I’m using the word “stuff” a lot.  They kept saying “stuff” in their dialogues and it bugged the heck out of me.  If they’ve used that particular word before, I never noticed it.  It just smacks of…anachronisms.  And that gets under my skin.  It’s just so uncharacteristic of this particular program.

Anyway, speaking anachronisms…I took some photos of some of the old Valentines that have crept into my house.  They belonged to a teacher here in town who my mother-in-law took care of in the teacher’s last years.  Not sure how they ended up here, but I couldn’t bear to throw them away.  So, they’ve resided in my paper doll drawer and are pulled out each Valentine’s Day to decorate the place up a bit.

Here’s my favorite.image

OK, so it’s not as easy to take pics of these things as I thought.

image

For some reason the next one has always appealed to me.

image

And this was posted by a Christy friend, Marilyn today on Facebook:

This valentine was posted on Facebook this morning by a "Christy" friend, Marilyn.  Looks like the little Dutch boy is off to see our little Dutch girl?! Photo by Marilyn Mitchem

This valentine was posted on Facebook this morning by a “Christy” friend, Marilyn. Looks like the little Dutch boy is off to see our little Dutch girl?! Photo by Marilyn Mitchem

There are tons more in the drawer, but these will do for now. My Valentine to all of you!!

This entry was posted in My One Weakness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

