Who asked for Apple Cobbler?!!

imageI seem to have to have lost my mind. I know someone mentioned it when I put up the Peach Cobbler recipe.

Nonetheless, I SHALL persevere and in hopes of catching up on loose ends here, I made apple cobbler today.

It really was more of a “I’d better use these apples before they go bad.” moment that decided what I would do for the next 30 minutes. Normally, I run out to the garage freezer, grab a sack of apples that I put up last summer…or the summer before…and throw a cobbler together pronto.

image

It really doesn’t take that much longer to use fresh apples as I’m too lazy nutrient aware to peel the apples. I read somewhere years ago that peeling the apples eliminates all of the good stuff.  I’m sure I read that.  I did didn’t I?!!!

Anyway…this is called Danish Apple Bar.  Around my house though, it’s apple cobbler.  A sweet friend gave it to me eons ago.  Between the two of us, we’ve exchanged enough recipes to qualify for the Martha Stewart Show!

I photographed it with vanilla ice cream…not Blue Bell…on the side aka a la mode.  Truth is, I wouldn’t eat cobbler with ice cream if you put a gun to my head.  I want my ice cream in a bowl.  By. Itself. And I want my cobbler on a plate.  By. Itself.

As usual, I’ve altered the recipe just a bit.  It’s a gift. Or habit. Not sure which.

Lois’s Danish Apple Bar

Pastry:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup Crisco, butter flavored

1 egg yolk

2/3 cup milk

Filling:

4 cups cored,thinly sliced baking apples, Granny Smith is my fav fresh, otherwise, I use whatever apples I have in the freezer.  Canned works too.

1 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Dash of salt

2 or 3 Tablespoons butter

Combine the flour and salt then cut the Crisco in with pastry blender.  Combine the milk and egg yolk and stir well.  Add to the flour mixture and toss until blended.

image

Roll out half the dough onto a well-floured board into a rectangleish shape.  Place in 9X12 baking dish.

image

Toss the apples with the sugar, flour and cinnamon w/a dash of salt.  Coat the apple well with the sugar.  Press into baking dish on top of the pastry.

image

Roll out the other half of pastry dough and place over the apples.  You may want to trim the sides a little to make it look tidy.

image

Whisk the egg white until frothy.  Brush over the top of the pastry.

image

Bake at 400° for 30-40 minutes.

image

The original recipe calls for a glaze of powdered sugar, milk and vanilla after the cobbler cools a bit.  I never use it as Big Boss has never been crazy about glazes of any kind. The only time I’ve done it is when my apples were tarter than usual and it was too late to add more sugar.  Thus, the glaze appeared on my cobbler!

And since I’m the cook, I get the pastry scraps all to myself!!

image

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who asked for Apple Cobbler?!!

  1. Dianne says:

    I’m with you, on not icing apples and ice cream. This is the recipe I use too. Fresh apples eat anything else hands down. By the way, apple pie is really good warm with cheddar cheese.

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    And I obviously mistyped tonite.

    Like

  3. judiang says:

    It was me!!!! Thank you so much. I tried to make one years back and it was disgustingly sweet. Can’t wait to try this!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Depending on the type of apple you use, the sugar should be adjusted. I’d start with 3/4 cup to begin with, which is what I use normally. My apples are a bit tart but we still like the cobbler NOT “disgustingly sweet”!! I love it because the cobbler is spread out/thinner than a normal pie. Therefore I eat less. Yep. That’s my story….

      Like

Leave a Reply

