May Day! May Day!

imageBetter late than never.  And I’m pretty much sliding into the unfashionable side of “late”. As in really late.

I had tucked this pic away and in the chaos of the last week or so, forgot it.  Not due to lack of importance for sure as this may very well have been my first May Day basket/gift.  But I could be wrong.

Grands brought it May 1 and they “helped” make it.  Candy and flowers…does it get any better than that?

But I don’t remember ever doing the May Day basket thing in my ‘5os world of Texas???  Did we?  I remember May poles and weaving construction paper baskets on construction paper.  But a real basket?   Don’t think so.

Maybe this is a Yankee tradition?  Anyone?  If it is…Yankee that is…I love it.

I was told you’re really supposed to ring the doorbell, leave the basket and run fast so you don’t get caught mid-delivery.  But then this Meemaw had fresh cinnamon rolls cooling in the kitchen.  The only running going on was to see who could get the first roll.  Pay off is sweet!!

 

This entry was posted in holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May Day! May Day!

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Well this New York Yankee never had a May Day basket, but it seems like a great idea. However I wish I had one of those Cinnamon rolls.

    Like

Leave a Reply

