Purple Cakes!

First, it was Purple Petunias.

Now, I give you Purple cake.

image

Oh yeah. Miz Teri did it to me again.  Pushed me to new heights.  Asked me to do something different. Something new. Something PURPLE!

Why purple?  Well, her soon-to-be 7 year old decided she wanted a Kansas State Wildcat themed cake this year.  But with purple ruffles.  Hmmm.  A Powercat with ruffles.  That was definitely a new one.

image

And so, the challenge was on. I researched ruffles. I studied fondant ruffles vs gumpaste ruffles. I weighed the advantages of upside down ruffles applied from the top down as opposed to ruffles going down, thus applying them from the bottom to top. Yep, it was supremely confusing.

One. More. Layer. Of. Ruffles!!!!

One. More. Layer. Of. Ruffles!!!!

But I finally decided to go with my gut and take the bottom up approach.  Altho one day I will give the top down method a try.  I think.

image

I even tinted the cake purple.  Purple colored strawberry cake.  You’re expecting grape taste and you get strawberry!  Surprise!!!!  😀

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purple Cakes!

  1. phylly3 says:

    Your cakes are amazing!!

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    Simply amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

