Echeveria Anyone?

Crassula ovatum Dwarf Hobbit

Crassula ovata Dwarf Hobbit

Bet you thought I was off The Hobbit bandwagon.  Not hardly.  Just too many other things happening around here to contemplate Hobbity things for very long! But I am compelled to touch on Tolkienish things once more.  I can’t help it.

Corral Reef Echeveria

Coral Reef Echeveria

See, it’s like this… I purchased a gorgeous Coral Reef echeveria a while back as a companion plant for my multitudes of Hen and Chicks…both are succulents, one hardy, one not.

The more I gazed upon my echeveria, the more I appreciated it. I loved its rufflediness!  I loved its thick, stout leaves  that bear a resemblance to kale leaves. I love its toughness, although it does have to reside inside during winter months.  And, I loved the pink/purplish tints on the tips of its leave.  All in all, I just really like this plant, which was new to me. FYI…it’s kinfolk to the jade plant which I discovered back in the ’70s but haven’t had one for years!!

Gram's Hen and Chicks still in the original tub that she grew them in.  No idea how old these are but as long as I knew Gram, she grew these.  Who knows...maybe she got her start from her mother?!

Gram’s Hen and Chicks still in the original tub that she grew them in. No idea how old these are but as long as I knew Gram, she grew these. Who knows…maybe she got her start from her mother?!

I had seen several varieties of Hen and Chicks aka Sempervivum…spider web and some sort of pinkish ones.  And since my Hen and Chicks, which actually came from Big Boss’s grandmother are considered family heirlooms and grow so easily, I decided to branch out and try something similar to them.  Thus the echeveria.

It was bought on a whim when I and two granddaughters made a greenhouse trip.  They thought the plant was weird in a funky sort of way, but, you know, grandma’s a bit funky themselves!

Yesterday I made one of my famous trips at the speed of light  for groceries, to the bank and of course, parts…always and forever, parts.  By 4:00, I had done everything on my list so I grabbed a chicken sandwich at Wendy’s and headed north.  Which took me right past one of my favorite greenhouses.  Which made me wonder if they might accidentally have some of those strange and wondrous succulents. So I turned into their drive.  Sure enough, they had all sorts, kinds, colors, shapes and sizes of succulents.  Yay for me!  Two boxes later, I was loaded and headed north.  Again.

In an effort to learn more about these wonderful plants, I started searching out sites for info on echeveria and stumbled upon even more information.

And that brings me to The Hobbit

Crassula Hobbit

Crassula Hobbit

Would you believe that there is a succulent (kinfolk to the Jade Plant) named “Gollum” a hybrid from “Hobbit” (pictured above)?!!  Really!  I kid you not. To top it off, there is..are you ready…a Dwarf Hobbit.  That just makes me laugh!!  How fitting, wouldn’t you say?

Crassula ovatum Gollum

Crassula ovatum Gollum

And…there is another variety named…wait for it…Gandalff…yes, they spell it with two “f”s.  Who. Knew? Amazing what you can stumble on to on the internet huh?!!

This may or may not be the correct ID of Gandalff.  There seems to be some controversy on it and Gollum as which is which!

This may or may not be the correct ID of Gandalff. There seems to be some controversy on it and Gollum as which is which!

This entry was posted in Boomers' Corner, farm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Echeveria Anyone?

  1. phylly3 says:

    That information is rather succulent itself! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

