Do you do the polka?

Neither do I.

But…I do polka dots.

Specifically, in cakes.  Well, I hope in cakes.  We’ll see as the cakes are in the oven. The proof will be in the pudding…rather the cake.

And it’s all Pinterest’s fault.  This is what happens when you spend too much time on your iPad cruising the latest pins.

Photo courtesy of EasyBaked.net.

This is what I’m aiming for.  Or a reasonable facsimile. Photo courtesy of EasyBaked.net.

 

You’re probably thinking, “Just say NO!”  I did. And then I found the instructions on how to make a polka dot cake with the dots on the inside of the cake. Dots on the outside are easy peasey.

Never one to ignore something new, something interesting, something cakeish, I purchased a cake pop maker at Target…the waffle kind.

The first batch turned out good.  I used a lemon cake mix as per box directions.  They tasted great and took about 2 minutes to cook.

But…the were really soft.  I didn’t think they’d hold up to batter covering them, like this:

Ready for the oven.

Ready for the oven.

 

And they weren’t really round.  The bottom was round but not the top, no matter how full I filled the cute little cups.  And of course, that extra batter oozed out of the sides of the little cups and made a mess.  The good thing was, the extra cooked batter lifted off easily.

Blue waffle cake ball maker and cake ball pan.

Blue waffle cake ball maker and cake ball pan.

 

Then I found a different cake ball pan…the pink one above from Dillards.  On sale. The kind you put in an oven with cups a bit larger than the waffle kind.

This is what I ended up with.

The top ball (1 5/8")was baked in the pan, the bottom ball (1 1/2") in the waffle kind.

The top ball (1 5/8″)was baked in the pan, the bottom ball (1 1/2″) in the waffle kind. They are both lying on the seam side. 

To be continued.  Unless this turns out to be a mess.  If that happens, well…

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you do the polka?

  1. radhika25 says:

    I’m sure your cake will be fabulous!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I love your optimism! Have you tried this yet?

      Like

      • radhika25 says:

        No, I haven’t because I don’t have the cake ball maker thingy. And usually my cakes aren’t planned ahead 🙂
        When I saw a tutorial for hearts in cakes (long ago) I immediately wanted to make it. And when I researched making these twice-baked cakes, saw the posts by Once Upon a Pedastal. Never got around to making them though.
        Once it’s done, tell me if its as soft. What colours are you making the cake balls?

        Like

        • The Queen says:

          I did green, lime green…the lime is the best and blue, hot pink and yellow. Hesitated on the red because it takes so much red to color anything. May try it next time?

          Like

  2. bitsy says:

    I am sure the grand babies LOVE your less than perfect anything, I know I would. don’t know how you find the time. your time management is inspiring MUD! btw no rain today, but saturday is looking good.
    love you miss you

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Ugh. Bits, I was just thinking the other day about how much “time” I waste on a daily basis. My problem is it takes me a loooong time to get in gear, but when I finally do, watch out. And don’t expect anything to eat. Or clean clothes. 🙂 Love ya back!!!!

      Like

  3. The Queen says:

    FYI…thunder and lightening in the north!!!!!! Maybe, just maybe….

    Like

Leave a Reply

