Miracles of the Wooden Sort

Back during wheat harvest, Big Boss and I were out moving trucks and tending to baby cedar trees when I noticed a lot of trees that might work for a project I had in mind.  I made a note of it and then suggested that I’d LOVE to have a nice cut from some of those trees.

Of course, he thought it was a crazy idea but I persevered…which means I didn’t let him forget it.

So, last week when the girls and I were in Texas and I still didn’t have my wood circle, I tried to find the wood circle there. Mesquite wood would be perfect!!  No luck.

Someone suggested on Facebook that I check a hobby store.  I did and came up with clock faces and an oval cut that was nice but not what I needed. And there were folks at places like Ebay and Etsy who advertised wood circles but they were pricey and had shipping costs to boot!  I

Then I hit Williams Sonoma the other day and they had a gorgeous piece of wood that was perfect!  It was also $80!  I had a passing thought to call BB and tell him I either spent the $$ there or he needed to find a tree and cut it for me.

I decided that was coercion and moved on. After all, I wanted to be nice about it. Ahem.

But I was getting desperate.  I needed that wood circle pronto.  I asked almost a month ago thinking 4 weeks gave BB plenty of time to get the job done.  That was nice of me, right?! (I learned that technique from my mother-in-law…she’d start by asking a month ahead for a job to be done and then the day before her deadline, my father-in-law would say, “well boys, we’d best get that done. Granny asked me to do this a month ago which meant she needed it done in 2 weeks which meant I had a month to git ‘er done.  That means we’re running out of time!” ) Makes perfect sense.  If you’re a man.

So yesterday, I sweetly reminded him of my long ago and obviously forgotten request.  “Yeah I  thought about that the other day.”  Right. And?

image

Today I am now the proud owner of not one wood circle but 7. SEVEN!!!! All sizes. All thicknesses. Some green. Some dry.  As usual…all or nothing!  But I’m not complaining.  I got what I needed. Now to get my part done.

BB’s comment was, as he dripped sweat all over the sidewalk and proudly displayed his hard work, “I was trying to figure out how in the heck I was going get this done and then I thought about all the things you do for me.”  Wow!  He noticed!!  And…awwwwww, how sweet!

And he probably also remembered that he called yesterday asking me to make cinnamon rolls for someone. And the omelet he called for yesterday morning as I jockeyed phone calls, cake baking and general chaos broke lose. Yeah, he owed me!  Just kidding.

Anyways, I now have a boatload of wood circles!  😀  Score one for me?!

Pics to follow.  I know you can’t wait.  Me either!!  😀

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Miracles of the Wooden Sort

  1. Dianne says:

    Perhaps you found out how expensive the mesquite wood is? They have a festival in Fredricksburg and the artists show the most beautiful stuff but it is extremely pricey. I found its because mesquite is just about the most expensive wood to buy.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Yeah and there’s such a shortage of mesquite. Seriously, I don’t get that. At all. But it is pretty. I have a mesquite rolling pin that an uncle made me years ago. Love it!

      Like

  2. Dianne says:

    Check out http://www.texashorsemaker.com. Right up your alley and beautiful craftsmanship.

    Like

  3. Kitty says:

    Awwww – that “sweet talk” made me turn plum red. He sounds like a keeper. Anxiously awaiting pics of your project (winks and blushing silly grins included in those pics, I hope).

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Oh he’s a keeper allright…I just have to nudge him a bit sometimes!! The project is rolling along so I hope to have pics up tomorrrow or Mon.

      Like

      • Kitty says:

        Nothing “nudges” my prince like taking things into my own hands (why WE will spend his four days off this week refinishing my hardwood floors).

        Like

        • The Queen says:

          Oh wow. That’s one huge job. BB and I refinished our lodge floors about 13 years ago with the help of a couple of sons. Saved us a bundle and looked wonderful when we were done. Good luck!!

          Like

Leave a Reply

