Recipe Saturday!!!!!!!!

Man, it’s been a long time since I did a Recipe Saturday.  Not sure why other than I haven’t been cooking that much, I’ve been gone, I’ve been busy with cakes…and I’m sure I have another excuse stuck somewhere?!

But…a DiL asked for a recipe the other day.  It’s really, really old and family favorite…one of my mother’s.  Altered a bit as most of my recipes are.  But then aren’t most recipes just that…a part from your mom’s recipe, a little from your mother-in-law and something you saw in a magazine/Pinterest/Facebook/whatever.

It’s long been my theory that there are actually very few “original” recipes out there.  I mean, my mama got her recipe from the next-door neighbor who got her’s from that lady at church who got her’s from a cousin at a reunion 40 years ago.  And they all changed it. So there goes the theory that specific ethnic groups own certain food styles!!?

Off topic…where was I?

image

Chicken and Rice

 2 cups cooked and boned chicken- or buy a rotisserie bird at the supermarket.  Generally, I just cook 3 breasts. *Note: chicken and rosemary are best friends in my kitchen.  No chicken here without rosemary!!

1 quart chicken broth-either the broth off your chicken or store-bought

1 onion chopped…I also add celery and if I have them, water chestnuts, mushrooms

2 Tablespoons butter

3/4 cups rice, any kind but our fav is brown

1 can cream of chicken or mushroom

Cheese of your choice…Mother always used Velveeta. I use a combination of Velveeta and cheddar.

In a large pot, brown the onion using the butter. Add the broth and bring to a boil.

image

Add the rice, reduce the heat, cover and cook slowly until the rice is done.  Add the chicken to the broth and rice.  Salt and pepper to taste and add grated cheese.

Pour into a deep casserole dish and bake at 350º for 30 minutes.

Usually, green beans or broccoli is our side dish of choice along with some fresh cantaloupe and cucumbers.  Rolls in the winter make this pure comfort food!  Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe Saturday!!!!!!!!

  1. Rita says:

    An aside: I, too, live in Kansas in the NE. Do you grow your own Rosemary? I’m wondering if a bush would survive our winters.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I do grow it! I have several plants, one of which has survived for 8 years. They’re pretty hardy but then we haven’t had a real test in a while. Our winters these last years have been mild compared to others!! In Texas, they grow the year round. Mine die back, then come spring, they put out new growth. I adore the scent of rosemary…reminds me of the Ponderosa pines in Colorado. 🙂

      Like

  2. radhika25 says:

    What happened to your polka dotted cake? Avidly waiting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

