Birthday Polka with a Wooden Twist and Candy

IMG_1377

Today our twin grandsons celebrated their 12th birthday. Yikes!  How did THAT happen?  Why just the other day…

They, like the other grands, get to pick out a birthday cake every year.  This year the oldest wanted a chocolate cake w/peanut butter filling and candy piled on top of it.  OK. Not sure I’ve ever seen one of those masterpieces but I’m game.  BTW…the kid loves candy..like most kids. But he REALLY loved candy!!!

The other grand, his twin, wanted a fresh orange cake with orange cream filling cowboy cake.  What?  Cowboy did he just say?  We’ve done horses and horseshoes and barns. Cowboy.  Oh. Not just any cowboy.  You know the cowboys we have on the hill that Big Boss makes for each grand?  Yep.  Those cowboys.

IMG_1359

And…he wanted to help decorate it.

So I bought candy.  Then I bought more candy.  And then I bought some more.  I figured the stash of Twizzlers, rock candy, Kit Kats and lollipops should keep Grand #1 happy as he decided he’d like to help out too.

IMG_1366

I thought. And tried to come up with a way to make the cowboys. And thought.  I just wasn’t sure how I was going to get the cowboys transferred to the food medium.  I took pics. I printed pics. They looked horrible.  I tried my iPad, my phone and my sweet little Canon.  Wasn’t working at all.  Finally it occurred to me that I needed to take closeups and THEN print them out.  Ah ha!  Sure enough…that worked.  The printouts were great.  Good enough to use as patterns to cut out cowboys from sugar sheets!!! Yay.

image

So I baked the 10″ cakes and put the layers together with the fillings, ready to decorate!  All the boys had to do was cover them with buttercream and jump in with both feet!  Easy right?  You should’ve seen my kitchen!!

image

So here are the results.  The boys spent Saturday afternoon decorating their creations.  And…we had fun!!!

IMG_1369

IMG_1368

One can never have too much candy! Right?

Yep, this is what I wanted the wood circle for!

Yep, this is what I wanted the wood circle for!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in cakes, Family Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Polka with a Wooden Twist and Candy

  1. radhika25 says:

    What a lovely grandma they have!

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    What a great birthday gift. Fun with Gramma.

    Like

  3. phylly3 says:

    I love those cowboys too! Candy makes the easiest topping for a cake and it always impresses. 🙂
    Those boys are so lucky to have a grandma like you!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      And I’m lucky to have them!! I had 4 grands in and out this afternoon…2 to just chat and 1 to help babysit the littlest one while I baked Vacation Bible School cookies. Group effort is the name of the game! You’re right about candy!! Especially Kit Kats! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

