The Desolation of Smaug or How I Ended Up in NYC

Photo courtesy of The Hobbit Movie

Photo courtesy of The Hobbit Movie

I know. You had forgotten all about The Hobbit. However, I have not. I’m waiting not so patiently for The Desolation of Smaug to hit the movie screens in December, which is next month, FYI. Not that I yearn to see a dragon desolated. Desolation is something I strive to avoid. I digress…

So, I have this friend who lives in upstate New York who had invited me to come up for a visit. She and her hubs had already visited our farm last year so it was “our turn”. Since hubs and I just got back from a Colorado vacation, he couldn’t turn right around and leave the farm again. But I could.

So I did.

We talked about going to Niagra Falls or maybe take a drive around the Finger Lakes.  Perhaps we could visit a nearby museum.  Maybe go into The City for a day.

Two hours after my friend and I decided on dates and times, Mr. Jackson announced the NYC Hobbit Movie Event that was to take place last Monday. That’s right. Two hours.

Was this serendipity?

No, I had no idea what The Event entailed other than two actors might be there with Peter Jackson beaming in from New Zealand along with London and Los Angeles.  There was talk of some clips from the new movie being shown. I did what any normal Hobbit freak would do…I got on-line to enter the Warner Brother Twitter contest for passes to the Event. Yes, I did. “Why not?” I asked myself.

After all, I was going to be close to The City. Very close. The timing was perfect.  But what were the chances?

No hopes of winning though. I don’t win contests. Ever. And I had no idea if I won, how I’d get to NYC from my friend’s home. No idea where I’d stay in NYC. All one big pipe dream.

But wait.

I WON!! Yep, me. The one who never wins anything. Ever. And I had two passes.  Joy oh joy!

 

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Desolation of Smaug or How I Ended Up in NYC

  1. Melinda Strickland says:

    Now I am really curious! I posted the question before reading all this, so disregard the question. Just fill us in on the details!

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    Congratulations!!! I’ve been waiting on your report. Is this all we get?

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    LOL!! More coming. I promise. Not sure when, but I promise!!!!!!

    Like

  4. Stephanie Carr says:

    Wish I’d known that you were going to be there–I won passes as well and my housemate and I went. It was amazing.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Argggh!!! YOU WERE THERE?! I could’ve walked right past you. Send me your thoughts, pics, whatever about it? I’d love your take!! (send via email? 🙂

      Like

      • Stephanie Carr says:

        Don’t know if you follow “The Armitage Effect” blog by my dear friend Angie (
        Fedoralady), but at her request, I wrote a post about my impressions and there’s also a link in there somewhere for my housemate’s Flickr page, since she’s posted nearly 100 photos she took that day.

        Like

      • Stephanie Carr says:

        If you would like to send me your email address, I’d be more than happy to forward you a copy of my report and also the link so you can see my housemate’s photos.

        Like

        • The Queen says:

          I found it!! Fantastic! If I saw a pic on the Flickr page that has a little blonde gal..that would be you?!! Thanks bunches. I scanned the article but will read in full when I get home tonight!!

          Like

          • Stephanie Carr says:

            Actually, I’m a tall, slightly graying brunette who HATES having her picture taken–the one my housemate snapped of me was so awful, I had her delete it. Let me know your thoughts on my article–will be interested to hear what you have to say.

            Like

  5. Pingback: Notes from an Almost Queen for a Day | Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a Reply

