HoHo Doodles

Today was my turn to provide cookies for our Good News kids. This is a community after-school gathering of elementary kids on Wednesdays where we sing, learn, pray and EAT!!

I could not decided what to make tho. I had sugar cookie dough in the freezer and that would be easy but not so quick. By the time you bake and decorate, it can take a while…especially when you are a person who tends to fuss over details but not mentioning any names.

But I wanted to do something halfway Christmasish. What to do what to do?!
image

Thought of my favorite cookie and immediately came up with Snicker Doodles! But…not Christmasish at all.

BUT wait!! You roll the balls of dough in sugar and cinnamon. WHY NOT use colored sugars?!! And it just so happened that I had red and green sugar left over from last year. Yay!

So I got the Christmasishness I wanted PLUS that famous Snicker Doodle unique and great flavor. I know. I’m brilliant and am sure no one has ever thought of doing this.
image

Although I’m pretty sure that the entire world has the recipe for Snicker Doodles, I’m going to include it anyway. Just in case. You never know when a new bride who has never boiled water might want to impress her new in-laws with cookies. Go with me on this…and as usual, I always double this!

HoHo Doodles

2 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup Crisco (butter flavored is best)
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

In mixer, cream sugar and Crisco till fluffy. Add eggs and beat well. Add cream of tartar, salt and soda and mix well. Slowly add flour with mixer at a low speed.

Chill. (or not…sometimes I just stick the whole bowl in the freezer for a quick chill)

Roll into balls slightly smaller than golf balls. I like big cookies! You know man sized ones that light up Big Boss’s face.

Place about 1/2 cup sugar/colored sugar in a cereal bowl and add 1/2-1 teaspoon cinnamon. Stir till blended.

image

Roll one ball at a time in the sugar mixture, pressing in slightly to set the sugar into the dough.

Place colored balls on an ungreased cookie sheet. I place a dozen on one sheet which is 14″ X 15 1/2″.

Bake at 375°  for 8-10 minutes. Watch them closely the first time…you want the bottoms barely browned. Cool on a wire rack and store in an airtight sack or plastic container. These also freeze well.

I like these crispy AND soft. Go with whatever rocks your boat! And ENJOY!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HoHo Doodles

  1. grammyjj says:

    lovin the name…hoho doodle 🙂

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    Awww, man, I miss Good News Club. We (my prince and I) use to teach first graders. But that was BC (before grandchildren) and I opened Mawmie Daycare. I plan to visit CEF tomorrow, as a matter fact, to get some stories and graphics for when we return to Nicaragua in March. I had a blast teaching Bible school when we were there three weeks ago using my CEF Bible but it is falling apart so I’m going to get a new one. Love me some Child Evangelism Fellowship.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      We started Good News here around 10 years ago and have a dynamic leader! Her energy level is amazing! I taught the Bible lessons for years..BB even taught a few times. After, of course, cleaning up a bit as Good News is in the middle of his work day. His funky aroma would not be welcome at GN! Nicaragua? How exciting!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

