And another thing…what happened to the Misty Mountains?

Sorry.  I really don’t want to sound like a whiner.  Or a Tolkien snob/geek/nerd.  Or a music snob/geek/nerd.

But.

Why in the name of All Things Tolkien, did we not hear the “Misty Mountain” theme song?  Not a note.  I listened and listened.  Nothing.

I sat with great anticipation. I expected it any second. But alas, all I heard were variations of the wonderful “Lord of the Rings” themes.

I couldn’t believe my ears but it was NOT there. Anywhere. No “Misty Mountain”.  Are the dwarves not still on a mission?  Is Thorin not continuing his trek to reclaim his crown/kingdom?  Is Bilbo not still the Burglar  and Gandalf not still wise?

My ears strained till they ached to catch a whiff of the theme song of An Unexpected Journey. But nothing.  I thought that maybe it might be hidden somewhere and that I just missed it the first time.  But no.  Nothing.

WHY?!!

Time out. I’m needing a fix. Join me as I listen.

OK. I feel a little better. As I was saying/ranting….

It must’ve been overlooked by Mr. Jackson. Or someone. They just forgot.  One of those situations where everyone thinks everyone else has remembered and no one does…kind of like the kid in  Home Alone.  No one called Mr. Jackson to say, “Hey, I think we forgot something.  Not sure what but something is missing. Like maybe a song?!”

I’m sure there is a good reason for this horrible oversight, but for the life of me, I don’t know what the heck that reason is!

See??  These are the things that keep me up at night.

By the way…I would love to be wrong about this. Please tell me you heard it???!

In the great tradition of fake fan letters…

Dear Mr. Jackson,

Where in the Sam Hill was the music?

I need to know.
Signed, A Sleep-deprived Fan

This entry was posted in Entertainment, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And another thing…what happened to the Misty Mountains?

  1. Rita Wood says:

    I’m going again on Tuesday. I’ll check for you. I was a Music Major, so I should be able to discern it.

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    And you didn’t hear the very lovely “I See Fire” by Ed Sheerhan until you were walking out of the theater.

    Like

Leave a Reply

