A Bluebonnet Kind of Day?

image

We got another 6″ of snow overnight.

image

Yay.

The good news is…grands are coming.  Well, 5 are…not all at once. Which explains why I am listening to Goofy sing  “Hot dog, hot dog, hot diggity dog” over and over.

image

And I have chili makings at the ready.

image

And I just filled the wood box so the fireplace is roaring.

image

And I got paths shoveled from the driveway to the house…front and back.

image

And I have the coolest boots in the world to do these chores in and keep my feet dry and toas

image

I didn’t order them for that purpose though.  I just thought they were cool.

How could I resist red, white and blue and the iconic design.  It screamed TEXAS.

And that made me wonder how many more days before the bluebonnets start blooming.

Staley Cemetery, Brown County 2010

Staley Cemetery, Brown County 2010

This entry was posted in Bluebonnet Bloom Blogreports, farm and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bluebonnet Kind of Day?

  1. Kitty says:

    “A wife of noble character who can find?…She gets up while it is still night;
    she provides food for her family…She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks…
    When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
    She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
    Her husband is respected at the city gate,
    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land…
    She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.
    She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
    She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.
    Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
    “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”
    Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
    Honor her for all that her hands have done,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Talk about a “high bar” to aim for!! God’s ideal…the Proverbs 31 woman! Still haven’t mastered the getting up while it is still night thing. I’m beginning to think I’m just not wired for it. It would take a boatload of coffee for me to be halfways civil while it is still night. Nice thought tho! You’re so sweet.

      Like

  2. bitsy says:

    I am loving the snow that is landing in Kansas! I know it can be hard to take but I’m thinking of the water table and hopefully the lack of flooding. I do feel bad for BB and the boys but I believe water any way you can get it is great. love love love your pics. just wish I was closer for some chili cooking lesson and to warm my toes at the fire.

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    You hit the nail on the head. Haven’t heard the “melt down value” of the snow, but it’s surprising how little moisture we get out of 6″. But it’s badly needed! I’d imagine you’re snow levels are way over ours tho!!!!

    Like

  4. Carol Dismukes says:

    Love those boots, gal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

