Crispy, Crunchy Sugar Cookies

Heart cookies are Granny's Sugar Cookies, link below. Round cookies are the subject of this post!

Heart cookies are Granny’s Sugar Cookies, link below. Round cookies are the subject of this post!

Soft cookies rule here.  Always have.  Although the concept was a new one for me when I met Big Boss.  His mom made soft cookies.  Always.  And they were good!

My mom made crispy cookies.  I thought that was the way cookies were supposed to be.  He thought his mom’s soft cookies were the way cookies were supposed to be.

image

Are you seeing a newlywed problem?  Nah, not really.  I bake them both ways.  And now, I really prefer some cookies soft. Like his mom’s Sour Cream Sugar Cookies.

The crispy version of the sugar cookie is about as different as you can get.  It’s one of my aunt’s recipes.  I could eat a kazillion of these.  It’s hard to stop.

This cookie is very “short”…not the opposite of tall…but crunchy, crispy, light, sort of like shortbread. That’s why I love it.

image

May’s Sugar Cookies

4 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 cup butter or butter flavored shortening

1 cup oil

1 cup sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

Cream the sugars and butter together. Add cooking oil.  Beat in the eggs and vanilla.  Add the dry ingredients slowly.

Roll into small balls, about 1 Tablespoon. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet…do 12 at a time. Then grease a drinking glass (or whatever) on the outside and bottom, dip into a cup of sugar and press into each cookie ball, flattening the ball out.  (The sugar keeps the dough from sticking to the glass.)

Bake at 375° for 10 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

The edges should be a little brown…really crispy!  That’s my favorite part…the edges.

You can add some chopped pecans also.  You expected me to add pecans, right?  😀

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crispy, Crunchy Sugar Cookies

  1. Kitty says:

    Like I need to try these, but you can bet your sweet bippy, I will. First cookie recipe I’ve seen that calls for oil. hmmmmm

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    That and the powdered sugar make it unique, huh? Lightest, crispest cookie I’ve ever had.

    Like

Leave a Reply

