Jam…it’s what goes on biscuits

image

I looked at my To Do list this morning as my eyes landed on the Kansas wind blowing white, wet snow all over the landscape in a suspicious blizzard-like fashion and decided first to get marked off for the day was the Number 4 Thing To Do (that didn’t get done yesterday)…make strawberry jam.

Why strawberry jam?  Well, I needed the freezer space…they needed to get used before freezer burn set in…AND I had all of the stuff gathered up for the jam process.

image

The strawberries were some I got last spring in Texas, brought home and froze them.  There they’ve sat until yesterday when a promise I made came to haunt me.

You see…in addition to 11 grands, I have 7 great nieces and nephews AND one of those nephews always has one request upon birthdays, Christmas…whatever.

He. Wants. Strawberry. Jam.

I’m behind one birthday and one Christmas therefore, jam was in the air today.

image

For those of you who have never made jam…I say “it’s time to live on the edge”…try something new…do something that you’ve always wanted to try.  Maybe not, but if I can make jam, you can.

image

Get a package of Sure Jell….that’s the stuff that turns smashed up fruit into jam.  Read the directions.  Study them. Memorize the words.  Gather up the jam-making equipment and materials.

image

Start small.  Experiment with some strawberries the next time they’re on sale…fresh ones.  If you can’t get fresh, go to the frozen food aisle.  Better yet find a local strawberry farmer.  Once you’ve had fresh fam made out of fresh strawberries, there’s no turning back. This, I know.

image

I dare you.  I double dog dare you.

There is NOTHING…nothing in this world better than homemade jam. Nothing. 🙂

And now that I’ve trashed my entire kitchen, it’s lunchtime…hot biscuits, butter and just barely cooled down jam. And the sun is shining.

image

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jam…it’s what goes on biscuits

  1. Kitty says:

    Mah mouff is waterin’ 😛

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Sorry. This is a diet buster if I ever saw one. Jam requires biscuits, biscuits require butter, buttter begs for jam…

      Like

      • Kitty says:

        I joined a weight loss challenge last spring that instructed us to leave off sugary sweets 6 days a week. There was quite the lengthy discussion on whether jelly / jams fell into that catagory. Really?!? Obviously, the ones who continued spreading it on their toast every morning had never experienced the joys of jelly-makin’ – bless their unfulfilled hearts.

        Like

  2. Suzann coffey says:

    Yea, that’s what you said about the icing—-if I can do it, you can do it—-, well we both know how that turned out!! Hee hee hee

    Like

  3. I lllloooovvvvvveeee strawberry jam. I can smell that fragrance coming from your kitchen. Yum!

    Like

  4. Kitty says:

    I thought huckleberry was a hound. But now I’m really cornfruzed. Huckleberry, deerberry , sparkleberry, farkleberry (whatEVER you do, DO NOT look that one up in the urban dicationary – you may never want to make jam / jelly again – ew). Have you seen them in full bloom in spring. Breathtaking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

