Flaycakes aka Pancakes from Bobby Flay

 

image

I caught this recipe on TV last Saturday morning…Saturdays are MY day to spend at Food Network even tho I still think they did Paula wrong.

That being said, Bobby was on making his Silver Dollar Pancakes with all sorts of outrageous and calorie-rich toppings.  They looked good but I’ve learned to approach TV recipes cautiously if not dubiously.

I liked the looks of this recipe immediately because it features PECANS!!!  Of course.

image

And the other catch was that I had all of the ingredients on hand.  Wow.

I made them today and I have to say….they are FABULOUS.  I pretty much stuck to the recipe with the exception of the vanilla bean…I don’t keep those on hand as we haven’t struck oil yet.

image

Also, I liked the fact that they cook up really fast in this mini size.  That works when it’s just me and Paw but if the grands are here, it could take all morning to get them all fed.  A larger size might be required upon those visits?!

Bobby’s Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups  all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped toasted pecans
  • 2 tablespoons  granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon  baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine  sea salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups, plus 3 tablespoons buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoons  unsalted butter, melted and cooled, plus more for griddle
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, split lengthwise and seeds scraped
  • 1 teaspoon pure  vanilla extract

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Combine all wet ingredients in a smaller bowl and whisk together.

Stir the wet ingredients into the flour mixture and mix only till well combined.  Let the batter sit for about 15 minutes or up to 30 minutes before cooking the pancakes.

image

In a cast iron skillet (a non stick skillet works too, but I love the crunchy edges that a cast iron skillet gives these pancakes), melt about 1 Tablespoon of the unsalted butter (unsalted will not burn as easily as salted) in the skillet. When it sizzles, drop about 2 Tablespoons of the batter on to the skillet.  I cooked 4 or 5 at a time and used a cookie scoop to dip out the batter.

image

Cook each side from 1 to 2 minutes.  Watch the butter closely and use a tablespoon with each batch.

I plan to use whole wheat flour next time as half the flour mixture and work my way to using all whole wheat eventually as an experiment.

These turned out light inside, crispy on the outside with a wonderful flavor.  Of course, using pecans didn’t hurt a thing!!

Another sub could be to use a sugar replacement instead of the white and brown sugar.  And, of course, use the maple syrup sparingly. Sounds like a good idea. Let me know how that works out.  IMHO, pancakes demand pure maple syrup and lots of it.

With chopped pecans sprinkled on top. 🙂 No cherries, thank you.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flaycakes aka Pancakes from Bobby Flay

  1. heartfelt4 says:

    They look scrumptious! Maybe some blueberries could be added! Or maybe that would detract from the pecan flavor. Either way, I know what I’m cooking for breakfast tomorrow morning! Thanks, Queenie!

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    You’re BACK!!! Yep, blueberries subbed in for the pecans are my next experiment. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

