Kitty’s Lemon Crinkle/Snicker Cookies aka Deadly Desserts

Lemon Snicker CookieI’ve gotta stop  trying new cookie recipes.  A friend sent one this a few weeks ago.  I was dying to try it but didn’t have lemons.  Kinda important in this recipe since it’s LEMON cookie.

So, I waited.  It took a while due to snow, wind, freezing rain, etc. to get to the grocery store, but I finally I got my lemons.  (I usually have them on hand but the ones in the fridge were ruined and unusable.  I squirt lemon juice in my water throughout the day.)

Free hint: if you’re a singer and sometimes get clogged up pipes due to sinus drainage or whatever, warm lemon water will take the edge off all the excess junk in your throat.  Old trick from my vocal teacher and choir director.  A thermos of lemon water went to all vocal contests!

Anyway, back to cookies…finally got the minutes to whip these cookies up yesterday and Kitty was right…they are addictive!! Rich, just the exact dose of lemon juice and zest to flavor the cookie to perfection, light and….addictive.

I see these as summer cookies, maybe a part of a bridal shower menu or a tea party. Grandsons were over yesterday and they thought they were great but they were also pretty sure I didn’t make enough. I didn’t. It was an experiment. Next time, I’ll triple the recipe and use butter flavored shortening. I might even consider using orange juice and zest!

Note: I adjusted the name of the cookie from “crinkle” to “snicker” because rolling the dough in powdered sugar before baking reminded me of the good old all-time favorite, Snicker Doodles.

Adapted from Laurenslatest.com

image

Lemon Snickers

½ cups butter, softened
1 cup  sugar
½ teaspoons vanilla
1  egg
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice (be careful as some lemons are more tart than others. I started with 2 teaspoons and went from there.)
¼ teaspoons salt
¼ teaspoons baking powder
⅛ teaspoons baking soda
1-½ cup  flour
½ cups powdered sugar
Yield 20- 2 1/2″ cookies.

Preheat oven to 350°.  Coat baking sheets with non stick cooking spray.

Cream butter and sugar together til fluffy. Add vanilla, egg, lemon zest & juice. Scrape sides and blend. Mix in next 4 dry ingredients slowly until just combined while scraping sides of bowl.

image

Put about 1/2 cup powdered sugar into a bowl. Roll a heaping teaspoon of dough into a ball and roll in powdered sugar or just dip the top of the ball lightly into the sugar. Place on baking sheet.

Rolled and dipped and ready for the oven.

Rolled and dipped and ready for the oven.

Bake for 9-11 minutes or until bottoms begin to barely brown. Cool cookies a few minutes  then transfer to cool on wire rack.

image

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kitty’s Lemon Crinkle/Snicker Cookies aka Deadly Desserts

  1. Kitty says:

    I tried to tell you! I’m so glad you enjoyed them. We’re back from our Nicaragua mission trip and there’s 1 large lemon in the kitchen just waiting to be turned into these.

    Like

Leave a Reply

